Story Links

Jan. 3, 2003

Charlottesville, Va. – Virginia football players LB Darryl Blackstock, T D’Brickashaw Ferguson and TE Heath Miller have been named to the Scripps/Football Writers Association of America Freshman All-America Team.

The trio is among 14 true and eight redshirt freshmen who helped UVa compile a 9-5 record this season in Al Groh’s second year at the helm. In fact, eight true freshmen and three redshirts started in the Cavaliers’ 48-22 win over #15 West Virginia in the Continental Tire Bowl on Dec. 28.

Blackstock led the nation’s freshmen with 10 sacks and 14 tackles for loss this fall. He finished the season with 107 tackles and set an ACC record for most sacks by a freshman. A true freshman from Newport News, Va., he was named national defensive rookie of the year by and

Ferguson started all 14 games at left tackle this season, the most starts by an offensive lineman in school history. A native of Freeport, N.Y., he is the only true freshman in school history to start a bowl game on the offensive line. Ferguson has been named to several other freshman All-America teams recently and was a key protector of QB Matt Schaub, who was named ACC Player of the Year.

Miller caught nine touchdown passes this fall to set an ACC record for most TDs by a tight end. A second-team All-ACC pick, he also caught 33 passes to lead the league’s tight ends and rank third on the team. A red-shirt freshman from Swords Creek, Va., his nine scores are the most in the nation by a tight end and third by a freshman this season.

The complete team is listed below.

QB Brad Smith, Missouri
RB Maurice Clarett, Ohio State
RB T.A. McLendon, N.C. State
WR Larry Fitzgerald, Pittsburgh
WR Mike Williams, USC
TE Heath Miller, Virginia
OL Mike Degory, Florida
OL D’Brickashaw Ferguson, Virginia
OL Winston Justice, USC
OL Richie Incognito, Nebraska
OL Andrew Whitworth, LSU

DL Loren Howard, Northwestern
DL Haloti Ngata, Oregon
DL Rodrique Wright, Texas
LB Darryl Blackstock, Virginia
LB Spencer Havner, UCLA
LB John Kerr, Indiana
LB Freddie Roach, Alabama
CB Steve Gregory, Syracuse
CB Justin Miller, Clemson
S J.J. Billingsley, Colorado
S James Sanders, Fresno State

P Greg Johnson, Vanderbilt
K David Abdul, Pittsburgh
PR Jeremy Bloom, Colorado
KR Broderick Clark, Louisville

Print Friendly Version