Story Links

Feb. 17, 2005

Washington, D.C. – University of Virginia men’s lacrosse players Rob Bateman, John Christmas and Matt Ward have been named to the Tewaaraton Award Watchlist announced by the Tewaaraton Award Foundation. The Tewaaraton Award is given annually to the nation’s top player.

Bateman is considered one of the top longstick midfielders in the country. A preseason second-team All-American by Face-Off Yearbook, he is using his final season of eligibility at UVa this season. He graduated from Penn State last spring and redshirted the season due to an injury. He earned All-American honors in 2002 and 2003 and led the ECAC in ground balls both years.

Christmas, a senior attackman, has been one of the nation’s most dynamic players throughout his career. He scored 11 goals and added 10 assists last season to rank third on the team. He enters this season fourth among active ACC players in both goals (76) and points (113).

Ward, a junior attackman, earned preseason second-team All-American honors by Face-Off Yearbook this season. He was named a third-team All-American last season after leading the team in goals (33), assists (13) and points (46), becoming the first player since 1999 to lead the team in all three categories.

The Tewaaraton Trophy will be presented at the annual award’s banquet on June 2 at the National Geographic Society headquarters in Washington, D.C.

Joining the Cavalier trio on the preseason watchlist are Kyle Barrie (Johns Hopkins), Jeff Bigas (Salisbury), Joe Boulukos (Cornell), Chris Cara (Bucknell), Andrew Corno (Georgetown), Brian Crockett (Syracuse), Matt Danowski (Duke), Luke Daquino (Albany), Scott Davidson (Denver), Jason Doneger (Princeton), Graham Gill (Navy), Sean Greenhalgh (Cornell), Ben Grinnell (Dartmouth), Kyle Harrison (Johns Hopkins), Greg Havalchak (Rutgers), Mitch Hendler (Navy), Greg McCarthy (Hobart), Bill McGlone (Maryland), Brodie Merrill (Georgetown), Brett Moyer (Hofstra), Jay Pfeifer (Syracuse), Jed Prossner (North Carolina), Jack Reid (Massachusetts), Matt Russell (Navy), Reed Sothoron (Towson), Brandon Spillett (LeMoyne), Jon Urbana (Villanova), Jim Wagner (Army), John Walker (Army), Pat Walsh (Notre Dame), Joe Walters (Maryland), Bryant Will (North Carolina), Chazz Woodson (Brown) and Matt Zash (Duke).

Print Friendly Version