Story Links

Jan. 27, 2006

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – – Mike Grogan earned a technical fall win and Eric Albright picked up a major decision to lead the Virginia Wrestling Team to a 27-10 win over North Carolina (12-6-1, 0-1-1 ACC) in the Atlantic Coast Conference Opener for the Cavaliers (6-4, 1-0 ACC) at Memorial Gym Friday night. It was Virginia head coach Lenny Bernstein’s 100th career victory.

Grogan, wrestling at 174 pounds, earned his first technical fall of the season. He built an 8-0 lead after the first period and held on for the win. Albright registered a 9-1 major decision win over UNC’s Jared Royer at 133 pounds. He earned 2:23 in riding time to make for the final score.

Anthony Burke started it off for the Cavaliers at 125 pounds. He battled Bobby Shaw to a 4-4 tie after three periods, but his 2:04 in riding time gave him a 5-4 decision putting UVa ahead, 3-0.

After Albright’s major decision gave the Cavaliers a 7-0 lead, UNC’s Vincent Ramirez posted a 12-2 major decision over UVa’s Peter Ferrara pulling the Tar Heels within, 7-4. Virginia then won the next four bouts. Drew DiPasquale edged UNC’s Isaiah Britton, 7-3, at 149 pounds. Mike Sewell then followed with a 10-6 decision over Brian Baglio at 157 pounds to make it, 13-4, in favor of the Cavaliers.

Virginia increased its lead to 16-4 when Damian Johnson overcame a 4-3 deficit after the first period to earn the decision over UNC’s Deon Barrett, 10-7. Grogan clinched the meet for the Cavaliers earning five points to put UVa ahead, 21-4. North Carolina won two of the last three matches when Justin Dobies edged Kyle Narkiewicz, at 184 pounds, 5-2, and Spencer Nadolsky knocked off UVa’s Nick Smith, 6-1 at heavyweight.

Virginia’s Brent Jones won the 197 pound bout by forfeit.

Virginia wraps up its three-meet homestand Saturday night when the Cavaliers host Virginia Tech in the Adelphia Commonwealth Challenge. The dual meet will begin at 7 p.m. Virginia currently leads the Commonwealth Challenge, 8-3.

Complete Results:
125 – Anthony Burke (UVa) def. Bobby Shaw (UNC), 5-4
133 – Eric Albright (UVa) def. Jared Royer (UNC), 9-1
141 – Vincent Ramirez (UNC) def. Peter Ferrara (UVa), 13-5
149 – Drew DiPasquale (UVa) def. Isaiah Britton (UNC), 7-3
157 – Mike Sewell (UVa) def. Brian Baglio (UNC), 10-6
165 – Damian Johnson (UVa) def. Deon Barrett (UNC), 10-7
174 – Mike Grogan (UVa) def. Jake Puckett (UNC), 16-1
184 – Justin Dobies (UNC) def. Kyle Narkiewicz (UVa), 5-2
197 – Brent Jones ( UVa) won by forfeit
HWT – Spencer Nadolsky (UNC) def. Nick Smith (UVa), 6-1

Print Friendly Version