Story Links

Charlottesville, VA The Virginia women’s golf team added another first for the six-year-old program today when the Atlantic Coast Conference announced its All-ACC team. For the first time in UVa history, three Cavaliers earned all-conference honors. That group includes senior Jennie Arseneault, junior Whitney Neuhauser and sophomore Calle Nielson.

Arseneault and Nielson picked up the honor for the second time in their careers. Nielson repeats from the 2008 squad while Arseneault earned all-league accolades as a sophomore in 2007. They are the only UVa golfers, except current LPGA tour member Leah Wigger, to earn All-ACC honors in multiple seasons.

Neuhauser currently leads UVa with a 73.04 stroke average. She is ranked No. 18 in the Golfstat Cup rankings and figures No. 31 in the Golfweek standings. Nielson, who has finished first or tied for first for the Cavaliers in the team’s last five events, is second on the squad with a 73.67 stroke average. She picked up her first career win this season, tying for first place at the LSU Classic. She is currently ranked No. 28 by Golfweek and No. 41 by Golfstat. Arseneault is third on the team in scoring at 74.04. She has five top-10 performances this year. She is ranked No. 41 by Golfweek.

The Cavaliers open NCAA play this week as the No. 1 seed in the East Regional Championship held at the University of Florida. Play runs Thursday through Saturday.

2009 All-ACC Women’s Golf Team
(Alphabetical by school)

Name School Yr. Hometown
Amanda Blumenherst Duke Sr. Scottsdale, Ariz.
Jennie Lee Duke Sr. Henderson, Nev.
Caroline Westrup Florida State Sr. Ahus, Sweden
Jessica Hollandsworth Maryland Fr. Floyd, Va.
Catherine O’Donnell North Carolina Fr. Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla.
Allie White North Carolina Fr. Lancaster, Ohio
Lauren Doughtie NC State Sr. Suffolk, Va.
Calle Nielson Virginia So. Nashville, Tenn.
Jennie Arseneault Virginia Sr. Grinnell, Iowa
Whitney Neuhauser Virginia Jr. Barboursville, Va.
Nannette Hill Wake Forest Sr. Pelham, N.Y.
Natalie Sheary Wake Forest So. West Hartford, Conn.

ACC Co-Players of the Year
Natalie Sheary, Wake Forest (So., West Hartford, Conn.)
Amanda Blumenherst, Duke (Sr., Scottsdale, Ariz.)

ACC Freshman of the Year
Catherine O’Donnell, North Carolina (Fr., Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla.)

ACC Coach of the Year
Dianne Dailey, Wake Forest

Print Friendly Version