Story Links

BALTIMORE, Md. – Former Virginia women’s lacrosse All-American Cherie Greer has been selected by the US Lacrosse Board of Directors as a member of the 2009 induction class into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame. Greer will be inducted at this year’s ceremony on Nov. 7 at The Grand Lodge in Hunt Valley, Md.

A three-time first-team All-American for the Cavaliers, Greer was the NCAA Division I Defensive Player of the Year in 1994 and had her jersey retired at Virginia. During her career, the Cavaliers won two NCAA Championships – the 1991 and 1993 titles.

Greer was also a 14-year club player and received the Beth Allen Award at the US Lacrosse Women’s Division National Tournament in 2000. She was a member of the 1993, 1997, 2001 and 2005 US Women’s World Cup teams, winning three world championships. She was named the Most Outstanding Player of the Championship Game in the 1997 and 2001 World Cups.

In 2000, Greer was named a member of the Lacrosse Magazine All-Century Team. She was also inducted into the US Lacrosse Philadelphia/Eastern Pennsylvania Chapter Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 2005.

Cherie Greer Brown joins Todd Curry, Jeffrey J. Long, Kevin Lowe, Mark Millon Patricia Price Genovese, Jennifer Miller O’Donnell and Jessica Wilk Strosberg – a former Cavalier field hockey coach – as the 2009 National Lacrosse Hall of Fame Induction Class.

The National Lacrosse Hall of Fame was established in 1957 to honor men and women, past and present, who by their deeds as players, coaches, officials and/or contributors, and by the example of their lives, personify the great contribution of lacrosse to our way of life. More than 325 lacrosse greats are honored in the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, which is located with the Lacrosse Museum at US Lacrosse Headquarters in Baltimore.

Other Virginia National Lacrosse Hall of Fame members include: Jay Conner, Heather Dow, John Driscoll, Tom Duquette, Peter Eldredge, Billy Hooper, Roddy Marino, Jane Miller, Howdy Myers, Jim Potter, Doyle Smith, Dom Starsia and Julie Williams. In addition, former UVa coaches Jim Adams, Buddy Beardmore, Gene Corrigan, Wilson Fewster and Bob Sandell have also been inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Print Friendly Version