Story Links

May 13, 2014

Charlottesville, Va. – The Atlantic Coast Conference announced today Virginia junior men’s golfer Denny McCarthy (Rockville, Md.) and senior teammate Ben Rusch (Weinfelden, Switzerland) have been named to the 2014 All-ACC team. McCarthy earned the distinction for the third consecutive year while Rusch picks up the honor for the second time in his career.

McCarthy leads the Cavaliers in stroke average at 70.64 through 28 rounds this season. He is ranked the nation’s No. 13 player by Golfstat and No. 18 by Golfweek. McCarthy led or shared the team lead in scoring in five of UVa’s 10 tournaments this season. He was the runner-up at the ACC Championships and tied for first at the Jim West Intercollegiate. He posted top-10 finishes in seven of 10 events. In 28 rounds of play this season, McCarthy has posted a score of par-or-better in 20 of those outings.

McCarthy becomes just the third men’s golfer in UVa history to earn all-conference honors for three consecutive years. Simon Cooke was named All-ACC in 1994, 1995 and 1996 and Ben Kohles repeated the honor in 2010, 2011 and 2012. In 2012, McCarthy was the ACC’s Freshman of the Year.

Rusch previously picked up all-ACC honors in 2012 when he won the league’s individual championship. He is second on the team with a 71.43 stroke average. He had five top-15 finishes this season highlighted by a runner-up effort at the U.S. Collegiate. He is ranked the No. 71 player in the nation by Golfstat and No. 77 by Golfweek.

Virginia opens play at the 2014 NCAA Regional Championship in Columbia, Mo., this Thursday.

Voting for the All-ACC team and individual awards was conducted by the league’s coaches.

2014 All-ACC Men’s Golf Team
(Listed alphabetically by school)

Jack Maguire, Fr., Florida State
Hank Lebioda, So., Florida State
Seth Reeves, Sr., Georgia Tech
Ollie Schniederjans, Jr., Georgia Tech
Anders Albertson, Jr., Georgia Tech
Niall Platt, Sr., Notre Dame
Denny McCarthy, Jr., Virginia
Ben Rusch, Sr., Virginia
Trevor Cone, Jr., Virginia Tech
Scott Vincent, Jr., Virginia Tech
Bryce Chalkley, Sr., Virginia Tech
Thomas Birdsey, Sr., Wake Forest

2014 ACC Men’s Golf Individual Awards
Player of the Year:
Ollie Schniederjans, Jr., Georgia Tech
Freshman of the Year: Jack Maguire, Fr., Florida State
Coach of the Year: Bruce Heppler, Georgia Tech

Print Friendly Version