April 5, 2017

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia football players Nicholas Conte, Ryan Santoro and Connor Wingo-Reeves earned NFF Hampshire Honor Society membership, as announced by the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame. To earn membership a football student-athlete must maintain a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout his college career.

Other qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society include: Being a starter or a significant contributor in the last year of eligibility at an NCAA FBS, FCS, Division II, Division III or an NAIA college or university; achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout the entire course of undergraduate study; and meeting all NCAA/NAIA-mandated progress toward degree requirements.

Conte (Sr., Roanoke, Va.) ranked No. 1 in the ACC and No. 15 in the nation with a 44.3-yard punting average in 2016. Conte’s career punting average of 44.45 yards per punt is a UVA career record and ranks No. 3 all-time in the ACC record book. He was also voted first-team All-ACC by the league’s media, as well as the league’s 14 head coaches. He was a Ray Guy Award semifinalist and a semifinalist for the National Football Foundation’s Campbell Award. Conte is a member of CoSIDA’s 2016 Academic All-District team.

Santoro (Sr., Oak Hill, Va.) appeared in all 12 of UVA’s games with three starts. At wide receiver Santoro caught nine passes for 78 yards and one touchdown. He also has been named to the ACC Academic Honor Roll.

Wingo-Reeves (Sr., Midlothian, Va.) appeared in 10 of UVA’s 12 games in 2016, seeing his time primarily as a backfield blocker in the run and passing game. In 2014 Wingo-Reeves was named to the All-ACC Academic team and has been a previous member of the ACC Academic Honor Roll.

UVA has had Cavaliers now earn the honor in back-to-back years. Ian Frye received the honor in 2016. Fellow ACC members Boston College, Duke, Georgia Tech, Miami, North Carolina, NC State, Pitt, Syracuse, Virginia Tech and Wake Forest also boast student-athletes that gained membership in 2017.