CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Junior Annie Dyson (Alexandria, Va.) has been named a Tewaaraton Award Top 25 nominee, the Tewaaraton Foundation announced on Thursday (April 22).

Dyson has been solid for the Cavaliers on both sides of the field. The midfielder leads UVA with 44 draw controls and is second on the team with 26 ground balls and 12 caused turnovers. Dyson is third on the team with 27 points, scoring 19 goals with eight assists. She has scored multiple goals in five games, with hat tricks in three of those. Dyson ranks ninth in the ACC in ground balls per game (1.86) and draw controls per game (3.14). She picked up a career-high eight draw controls in the win over Virginia Tech and had a career-best six ground balls at Boston College. Dyson has had career-high four caused turnovers in two games and has at least one ground ball, one caused turnover and one draw control in six contests.

The Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are comprised of premier college coaches and are appointed annually by the Tewaaraton Foundation.

Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced in mid-May prior to the start of the NCAA Championships. The Tewaaraton Award recipients will be chosen after the conclusion of the collegiate lacrosse season.

For more information on the Tewaaraton Foundation visit Please like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at, and

25 women’s nominees:

Ali Baiocco, Stanford – Sr., Attack

Megan Carney, Syracuse – Jr., Attack

Lizzie Colson, Maryland – Grad. Student, Defense

Sarah Cooper, Syracuse – Jr., Defense

Bridget Deehan, Notre Dame – Sr., Goalie

Olivia Dirks, Penn State – Soph., Midfield

Annie Dyson, Virginia – Jr., Midfield

Molly Garrett, Michigan – Grad. Student, Midfield

Lauren Gilbert, Northwestern – Sr., Attack

Grace Griffin, Maryland – Sr., Midfield

Karson Harris, Drexel – Sr., Midfield

Katie Hoeg, North Carolina – Sr., Attack

Maddie Jenner, Duke – Jr., Attack

Shannon Kavanagh, Florida – Sr., Midfield

Ally Kennedy , Stony Brook  – Grad. Student, Midfield

Lindsay McKone, Northwestern – Grad. Student, Midfield

Taylor Moreno, North Carolina – Sr., Goalie

Charlotte North, Boston College – Sr., Attack

Jamie Ortega, North Carolina – Sr., Attack

Livy Rosenzweig, Loyola Maryland – Sr., Attack

Izzy Scane, Northwestern – Jr., Attack

Emma Trenchard, North Carolina – Sr., Defense

Cara Trombetta, Florida – Grad. Student, Defense

Meaghan Tyrrell, Syracuse – Jr., Attack

Sydney Watson, UConn – Sr., Midfield