Story Links

Feb. 18, 2016

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Four members of the Virginia men’s tennis team were named to the 2016 ITA All-Tournament Team, as announced by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association on Thursday (Feb. 18). The honors were voted on by a panel of the 16 participating head coaches at the 2016 ITA Division I National Men’s Team Indoor Championship, which was hosted by the University of Virginia February 12-15 at the Boar’s Head Sports Club.

Sophomore Collin Altamirano (Sacramento, Calif.) and junior J.C. Aragone (Yorba Linda, Calif.) earned honors in both singles and doubles. The tandem were 3-1 at No. 3 doubles, including a 6-3 victory over North Carolina’s Blaine Boyden and Ronnie Schneider in the tournament final on Monday (Feb. 15). Altamirano was 3-0 at No. 3 singles and Aragone went 2-0 at No. 5 singles. Altamirano was a unanimous selection at No. 3 singles.

Junior Thai-Son Kwiatkowski (Charlotte, N.C.) and senior Mac Styslinger (Birmingham, Ala.) earned All-Tournament honors at No. 2 doubles after going 2-0 with victories in the TCU and Wake Forest matches.

In addition to being a unanimous selection to the ITA All-Tournament Team at No. 2 singles, North Carolina’s Ronnie Schneider was named the 2016 ITA Division I National Men’s Team Indoor Championship’s Most Outstanding Player.

This is the ninth annual ITA National Men’s Team Indoor All-Tournament Team. Past winners of the Most Outstanding Player award are Virginia’s Somdev Devvarman (2008); Virginia’s Sanam Singh (2009); Virginia’s Michael Shabaz (2010); Virginia’s Alex Domijan (2011); USC’s Steve Johnson (2012); Virginia’s Alex Domijan (2013); Ohio State’s Peter Kobelt (2014) and Oklahoma’s Alex Ghilea (2015).

Print Friendly Version