April 27, 2017

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia attackmen Michael Kraus and Zed Williams and midfielder Ryan Conrad were named to the men’s lacrosse All-Atlantic Coast Conference squad, as announced by the league office on Thursday. The team is determined by a vote of the league’s five head coaches. The accolades for Conrad, Kraus and Williams are the first career honors for the trio. Sophomore Conrad and freshman Kraus are the only two underclassmen on the 18-man team.

Conrad (So., Timonium, Md.) leads UVA with 62 ground balls, which is the most in the nation by a non-defensive player or faceoff specialist. The midfielder has 16 goals and 11 assists and has caused nine turnovers. Conrad is the only sophomore on the All-ACC team.

Kraus (Fr., New Canaan, Conn.) leads UVA with 34 goals and 55 points. He ranks No. 3 in the ACC, No. 14 in the nation and No. 2 among the nation’s freshmen with 34 goals. Kraus’ 55 points rank No. 3 all-time at UVA among freshmen. Kraus is the only freshman on the All-ACC team and is the seventh Cavalier all-time to earn All-ACC honors as a freshman since the league started putting together an All-ACC team in 1977. He joins Mike Caravana (A, 1980), Scott Gerham (M, 1981), Larry LeDoyen (M, 1983), Kevin Pehlke (A, 1990), Michael Watson (A, 1994) and John Christmas (A, 2002).

Williams (Sr., Irving, N.Y.) is on the 2017 Tewaaraton Trophy watch list and leads UVA with 25 assists. He is second on the team with 50 points and 50 ground balls. Williams’ 50 ground balls are No. 2 behind Conrad for most in the nation among non-defensive players or faceoff specialists. Williams was the first player in the nation to reach the 20-20, 30-30, 40-40 and 50-50 club in points and ground balls. He is the only attackman in the nation with 50 ground balls.

The Offensive Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year and Coach of the Year will be announced early next week.

Virginia returns to action on Saturday in the ACC-Penn Showcase in Durham, N.C. UVA and Penn will meet for the second time this season at noon. The game will be contested at Duke’s Koskinen Stadium and will be webcast on ACC Network Extra.

2017 ACC Men’s Lacrosse All-ACC Team
A – Jack Bruckner, Sr., Duke *
A – Justin Guterding, Jr., Duke *
A – Luke Goldstock, Sr., North Carolina
A – Zed Williams, Sr., Virginia *
A – Michael Kraus, Fr., Virginia
M – Sergio Perkovic, Sr., Notre Dame *
M – Sergio Salcido, R-Sr., Syracuse*
M – Nick Mariano, Sr., Syracuse *
M – Ryan Conrad, So., Virginia
D – Cade Van Raaphorst, So., Duke
D – Austin Pfiani, Sr., North Carolina *
D – Garrett Epple, Sr., Notre Dame
D – Scott Firman, Sr., Syracuse
SSM – Tate Jozokos, Sr., North Carolina
LSM – John Sexton, Jr., Notre Dame *
F/O – Kyle Rowe, Sr., Duke
F/O – Ben Williams, Sr., Syracuse *
G – Danny Fowler, Sr., Duke

* 2017 Tewaaraton Award Watch List