Oct. 19, 2017

Tournament Central Page | Qualifying Singles Results | Doubles Main Draw | Singles Main Draw Bracket

LYNCHBURG, Va. – Freshman Jefferson Dockter (Atlanta, Ga.) picked up a pair of victories to advance through qualifying on Thursday (Oct. 19), earning a spot in the main singles draw at the ITA Atlantic Regional, being hosted by Liberty in Lynchburg, Va.

Dockter picked up his first collegiate victory with a 6-0, 7-6 (5) victory over Hampton’s Peter Odegbami in the first round. In his second-round match, Dockter dropped his first set 6-4 to Mount St. Mary’s Parth Sharma , but rallied to win the final two sets 6-1, 6-3 to earn a spot in the singles main draw.

Dockter joins redshirt freshman Ammar Alhaqbani (Alexandria, Va.), junior Aswin Lizen (Douglas, Isle of Man) and freshman Matthew Lord (Bloomfield, Conn.) in the singles main draw. Dockter will face Liberty’s Diego Castano in the Round of 128 on Friday. Alhaqbani, Lizen and Lord all have first-round byes and will begin competition in the Round of 64.

Dockter and Alhaqbani will be playing together in the tournament’s doubles main draw as will Lizen and Lord.

Friday will feature round of 64 doubles and round of 128 singles matches with play beginning at 9 a.m.

Freshman Jerome Romualdez (Manila, Philippines) also competed on Thursday in the singles qualifying tournament, falling 6-2, 6-1 to Morgan State’s Nihit Rawal. He will face Andrew Ong of Duquesne in a consolation match on Friday.

Live results from the matches will periodically be updated on Liberty’s website throughout the tournament. Those links will be posted on the schedule page of VirginiaSports.com.

The singles and doubles champions will automatically earn a spot at next month’s Oracle ITA National Fall Championships at Indian Wells.

The Cavaliers have won the singles title at the regional eight times, including J.C. Aragone, who won the title last year. Other Cavaliers winning the singles championship include Huntley Montgomery (2000), Dominic Inglot (2007-08), Jarmere Jenkins (2009-10), Harrison Richmond (2012) and Ryan Shane (2014).