May 3, 2018

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia men’s tennis sophomore Carl Soderlund (Stockholm, Sweden) and junior Aswin Lizen (Douglas, Isle of Man) have been named to 2018 All-ACC teams, in honors announced Thursday (May 3) by the Atlantic Coast Conference.

Söderlund was named to the first team while Lizen earned a spot on the league’s second team.

Söderlund played No. 1 singles this season for the Cavaliers, posting an 11-5 record on the top court. Last season’s ITA Atlantic Region Rookie of the Year has been ranked as high as No. 23 in singles this season. This is his second all-conference honor after being voted to the second team in his freshman season.

Lizen had the highest win tally on the Cavaliers this season, posting a 30-6 record in singles. Ranked as high as No. 10 in singles this spring, Lizen went 12-1 in singles in the fall and opened the spring winning his first eight singles matches to start the year, 20-1. Lizen was the ITA Atlantic Regional Singles champion and advanced to the Round of 16 at the Oracle ITA Fall National Championships. He was 18-5 this spring in singles, including posting a 9-3 record in conference matches. Lizen was also named the recipient of the UVA men’s tennis’ 2018 Norton Pritchett Memorial Award. This is his first all-conference accolade.

Both players will be competing at the 2018 NCAA Men’s Tennis Singles Championship, being held May 23-28 at the Wake Forest Tennis Complex in Winston-Salem, N.C., after the conclusion of the team championship, which runs from May 18-22.

2018 All-ACC Men’s Tennis Awards
Player of the Year: William Blumberg, SO, North Carolina
Freshman of the Year: Benjamin Sigouin, North Carolina
Coach of the Year: Dwayne Hultquist, Florida State

2018 All-ACC Men’s Tennis Teams
First Team
Nicolas Alvarez***, R-JR, Duke
Aziz Dougaz**, JR, Florida State
William Blumberg**, SO, North Carolina
Benjamin Sigouin, FR, North Carolina
Alexis Galarneau**, SO, NC State
Carl Söderlund**, SO, Virginia
Mitch Harper, JR, Virginia Tech
Petros Chrysochos***, JR, Wake Forest
Borna Gojo**, SO, Wake Forest

Second Team
Simon Baudry, SO, Clemson
Guy Iradukunda**, SR, Florida State
Lucas Poullain**, R-SR, Florida State
Carlos Divar, SO, Georgia Tech
Christopher Morin-Kougoucheff**, JR, Louisville
Adria Soriano, FR, Miami
Alex Lebedev, JR, Notre Dame
Aswin Lizen, JR, Virginia
Skander Mansouri***, SR, Wake Forest

Third Team
Nick Stachowiak, SO, Duke
Parker Wynn**, SO, Louisville
Bojan Jankulovski, FR, Miami
Christian Langmo, SR, Miami
Blaine Boyden, JR, North Carolina
Robert Kelly***, SR, North Carolina
Tadas Babelis, FR, NC State
Richard Ciamarra, FR, Notre Dame
Bar Botzer, Fr, Wake Forest

* – denotes number of All-ACC honors