Story Links

May 10, 2000

GREENSBORO, N.C. — University of Virginia second-year Ed Moses(Burke, Va./Lake Braddock) and first-year Cara Lane (Charlotte,Va./Providence) have been selected as the Atlantic Coast Conference’s Men’sand Women’s Swimmers of the Year, respectively. In addition, first-yearMirjana Bosevska (Skopje, Macedonia/Trinity Prep) has been named theconference’s women’s Rookie of the Year, while UVa head coach MarkBernardino has been chosen as the ACC Men’s Coach of the Year. All theawards were selected in a vote of the league’s head coaches.

Moses, one of the top breaststrokers in the world, is coming off aspectacular sophomore season at Virginia. In addition to earning theswimming team’s MVP Award, he was recently presented the WCHV Award asVirginia’s top male athlete for the 1999-2000 academic year. Moses set apair of short course world records and three American records in winningthe 2000 NCAA titles in the 100 and 200-meter breaststroke in March. Heclocked a time of 57.66 seconds in the 100 and had a time of 2:06.40 in the200 in becoming UVa’s first two-time NCAA Champion. Moses also establishedan American 50-meter breaststroke record with a time of 26.96 seconds inthe 50-meter split in the 100. For his performance at the NCAA meet, Moseswas selected as the Swimmer of the Championship, the first time an ACCswimmer has received the award.

After the NCAA Championships, Moses won the 100 and 200-meterbreaststroke events at the Phillips 66 National Championships. Moses, theschool record holder in the 100 and 200-breaststroke, also won the100-breaststroke title at the ACC Championships in February.

Lane, the Cavaliers’ team MVP, became the first UVa female swimmerto earn a NCAA title as she won the 1500-meter freestyle by nearly 11seconds with a time of 16:03.59 in March. Lane was also third in the400-meter free (4:07.31) and was 14th in the 200-meter butterfly (2:13.26).Lane also swam on UVa’s eighth-place 800 free relay team (8:05.54). Shebecame the sixth UVa female swimmer to be named the Most Valuable Swimmerof the ACC Championships. She set ACC Meet and Virginia school records inwinning the 200 butterfly (1:58.58), 500 freestyle (4:43.21) and the 1650free (16:07.71). She was also a member of UVa’s winning 800 free relayteam (7:16.63).

Mirjana Bosevska had an exceptional season for the Cavaliers andwas the recipient of UVa’s women’s Rookie of the Year and Hardest WorkerAwards. She earned first-team All-America honors by finishing fourth inthe 1500-meter free (16:14.79) and 400 IM (4:40.47) at the NCAAs.Bosevska, a member of the Macedonian Olympic Team, was also 10th in the 400free (4:09.83) to garner honorable mention All-America accolades. She alsoswam on the Cavaliers’ 800 free relay team that finished eighth. At theACCs, Bosevska set UVa and ACC Meet records in winning the 200 and 400 IMswith times of 2:00.59 and 4:13.77, respectively, and swam the anchor leg ofthe ‘Hoos 800 free relay.

Bernardino earns the ACC Men’s Coach of the Year Award for theseventh time in his career and second consecutive season. Bernardino, whois finishing his 22nd season as Virginia’s head coach, led the Cavalier mento a 12th-place finish at the 2000 NCAA Championships, the highest finishin program history. UVa also won its fourth ACC title and second straightin 2000. The Cavaliers were 7-1 overall and 4-1 in the ACC and were rankeda program-best seventh during the season. The women’s team was 8-0 overalland 5-0 in the ACC in 1999-2000. Virginia finished second at the ACCChampionships and tied for ninth at the NCAA Championships.

Print Friendly Version