Story Links

Nov. 30, 2001

Complete Results

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – The University of Virginia men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams extended their leads during the second day of competition Friday (November 30) at the 2001 Cavalier Invitational, which is being held at UVa Aquatic and Fitness Center. The Virginia men won six of seven events Friday, while the UVa women won four of six events.

On the men’s side, the 11th-ranked Cavaliers lead the eight-team competition with 821 points after 13 of 21 events, while UMBC is second with 415 points. West Chester is third with 406.50 points and West Virginia is fourth with 363.50 points. Yale is fifth with 309 points, followed by Columbia (200), Villanova (137) and Central Connecticut (50).

After 13 events, the 14th-ranked Virginia women lead the other eight teams with 712 points. Texas A&M is second with 426 points, while Richmond is third with 361.50 points. West Chester and West Virginia are fourth and fifth with 305 and 269 points, respectively. Rounding out the field is Yale (232.50), UMBC (223), Central Connecticut (55) and Villanova (16).

Second-year Luke Anderson (Charlottesville, Va./Bolles School) won a pair of events for the Cavaliers. He won the 200 free with a NCAA “B” qualifying time of 1:38.20 and then came right back to win the 100 breast in the next men’s event with a time of 56.61. Anderson also swam a leg on UVa’s winning 800 free relay team that clocked a time of 6:41.08. Third-year Dan Zurowski (Woodbridge, Va./Bishop Ireton) and second-years Ian Prichard (Ventura, Calif./Buena) and Adam Kerpelman (Lutherville, Md./St. Paul’s School) swam the other legs on the relay. The Cavaliers also won the 200 medley relay with a time of 1:33.39. Fourth-year Chris Mousetis (Newport News, Va./Woodside), third-years Jon Baird (Nashville, Tenn./Montgomery Bell Academy) and Brian Best (Columbia, Md./Wilde Lake) and second-year Jonathan Haag (Ashland, Ohio/Ashland) each swam a leg on the winning relay. Second-year Pete Amstutz (St. Joseph, Mich./St. Joseph) turned in an outstanding performance in winning the three-meter diving competition. Amstutz set meet, pool and school records in winning the three-meter diving with a NCAA Zone B Regional qualifying score of 352.20 points. Third-year Guy Yimsomruay (Bangkok, Thailand/Germantown Academy) and second-year Luke Wagner (Englewood, Colo./Regis Jesuit) rounded out the Cavaliers’ event winners in the second day of competition. Yimsomruay won the 400 individual medley with a time of 3:54.55, while Wagner won the 100 backstroke in 49.80.

UMBC’s Mehdi Addadi won the other event contested Friday night as he was victorious in the 100 butterfly with an NCAA “B” qualifying time of 48.74.

On the women’s side, third-year Mirjana Bosevska (Skopje, Macedonia/Trinity Prep) and second-year Carlie Dykehouse (Gainesville, Fla./Trinity Prep) both won individual events and also swam on the Cavaliers’ winning 800 free relay team. Bosevska won the 400 individual medley with a NCAA “B” time of 4:17.42, while Dykehouse won the 200 freestyle with a time of 1:50.09. First-years Laura Lipskis (St. Charles, Ill./St. Charles) and Carrie Ellis (Valrico, Fla./Durant) joined Bosevska and Dykehouse on Virginia’s 800 free relay team that touched in 7:31.39. UVa also won the 200 medley relay with a time of 1:46.57. Third-year Lindsey Crane (Fairport, N.Y./Fairport), fourth-year Caitlin Anderson (Charlottesville, Va./St. Anne’s), first-year Andrea Georoff (Winter Park, Fla./Trinity Prep) and fourth-year Megan Roesch (Columbia, Md./Wilde Lake) each swam legs on the winning 200 medley relay.

Texas A&M swimmers won two events, while UMBC took one event title. Texas A&M’s Clara Ho set the meet record in the 100 butterfly with a time of 55.89, bettering her own record time of 56.22 set in the prelims earlier in the day. Courtney Patterson won the 100 backstroke in a time of 57.42. UMBC’s Lindsey Prather won the 100 breaststroke with a time of 1:03.69.

The third and final day of the Cavalier Invitational gets under way at 10:00 a.m. Saturday. Finals commence at 7:00 p.m.

Print Friendly Version