Story Links

July 30, 2002

The Atlantic Coast Conference 50th Anniversary Men’s Cross Country Team was announced today by Commissioner John Swofford. The 54-member team was voted on by the nine league institutions as decided by the league’ s 50th Anniversary Committee. Virginia’s Mike Cotton (’81) and Bobby Thiele (’00) were both named to the team.

Mike Cotton was a two-time All-American while at Virginia (3,000m SC,1981 and Cross Country, 1980) and was also a two-time ACC Champion. He won the 3,000m Steeplechase in 1979 and the 10,000m run in 1981. Cotton was selected as the ACC Performer of the Meet in 1981. He is still the UVa record holder in the 10000m (28:55.34, 1981).

Bobby Thiele was named to All-America team in 1999 for his finish at the NCAA Championships that year. Thiele was a three-time All-ACC performer, including his runner-up finish at the ACC Championships in 2000.

The ACC will release the members of each of the championship sports throughout the fall.

Print Friendly Version