Story Links

March 4, 2004

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – The University of Virginia wrestling team (10-7, 3-1 ACC) is set to compete in the 2004 Mat Jam, featuring the Atlantic Coast Conference and Southern Conference Wrestling Championships, on Saturday, March 6th at UVa’s University Hall. A total of 11 schools, six from the SoCon and five from the ACC, will compete in the event with First Round competition set to begin at 11:00 AM. The Semi-Final round is scheduled to begin at 1:00 PM, followed by the Semi-Final Consolations at 3:00 PM and the Consolation Finals at 4:30 PM. The ACC and SoCon Finals are scheduled to begin at 7:00 PM.

North Carolina (ACC) and Appalachian State (SoCon) will look to defend their 2003 conference championship titles after winning their respective conferences last season. The Tar Heels have won 15 of the 50 total ACC Championship titles. North Carolina’s 15 titles are second in the ACC to only Maryland’s 20. The Terrapins won the first 20 ACC events from 1954-1973. N.C. State has won 12 ACC titles, Virginia has claimed three and Duke has not won an ACC title in wrestling.

ASU has won six of the 69 total SoCon titles. Chattanooga has claimed a conference best 19 titles, followed by nine by VMI. Former Southern Conference members Washington & Lee and Virginia Tech each recorded seven titles, and other former SoCon members West Virginia, East Carolina and William & Mary gathered five apiece. Current ACC members North Carolina and Maryland each posted a pair of SoCon titles before joining the ACC, while The Citadel and UNC Greensboro have claimed one title each. In 1995, Appalachian State and VMI finished tied for first, and in 1997 ASU, VMI and UNCG finished in a three-way tie for first place. The SoCon did not have a conference championship meet in 1931-1932, 1937, 1939-1940, 1944-1946.

Here is a look at the 2004 Mat Jam schedule of events, the participating schools and the championship history for the ACC and SoCon Wrestling Championships:

2004 Mat Jam Schedule of EventsTime			Event7:00 AM - 11:00 AM	Open mats and scales9:00 AM			Weigh-in and skin checks9:30 AM			Doors Open and ticket sales begin11:00 AM		First Round1:00 PM			Semi-Finals3:00 PM			Semi-Final Consolations4:30 PM			Consolation Finals7:00 PM			Finals			Awards presentations			Wild Card meetings

Southern ConferenceAppalachian StateChattanoogaThe CitadelDavidsonUNC GreensboroVMI

Atlantic Coast ConferenceDukeMarylandN.C. StateNorth CarolinaVirginia

Atlantic Coast Conference Wrestling Championship History

YEAR CHAMPION1954 Maryland1955 Maryland1956 Maryland1957 Maryland1958 Maryland1959 Maryland1960 Maryland1961 Maryland1962 Maryland1963 Maryland1964 Maryland1965 Maryland1966 Maryland1967 Maryland1968 Maryland1969 Maryland1970 Maryland1971 Maryland1972 Maryland1973 Maryland1974 Virginia1975 Virginia1976 NC State1977 Virginia1978 NC State1979 North Carolina1980 North Carolina1981 NC State1982 NC State1983 NC State1984 North Carolina1985 North Carolina1986 North Carolina1987 North Carolina1988 NC State1989 NC State1990 NC State1991 NC State1992 North Carolina1993 North Carolina1994 North Carolina1995 North Carolina1996 NC State1997 North Carolina1998 North Carolina1999 North Carolina2000 North Carolina2001 NC State2002 NC State2003 North Carolina

Southern Conference Wrestling Championship History

Year Champion1930 VMI1931 NO MEET1932 NO MEET1933 Washington & Lee1934 Washington & Lee1935 VMI1936 Washington & Lee1937 NO MEET1938 VMI1939 NO MEET1940 NO MEET1941 Washington & Lee1942 North Carolina1943 VMI1944 NO MEET1945 NO MEET1946 NO MEET1947 North Carolina1948 Washington & Lee1949 Washington & Lee1950 Washington & Lee1951 VMI1952 Maryland1953 Maryland1954 West Virginia1955 Virginia Tech1956 Virginia Tech1957 VMI1958 Virginia Tech1959 West Virginia1960 Virginia Tech1961 Virginia Tech1962 Virginia Tech1963 Virginia Tech1964 West Virginia1965 West Virginia1966 West Virginia1967 The Citadel1968 William & Mary1969 William & Mary1970 William & Mary1971 William & Mary1972 East Carolina1973 East Carolina1974 East Carolina1975 East Carolina1976 East Carolina1977 William & Mary1978 Chattanooga1979 Chattanooga1980 Chattanooga1981 Chattanooga1982 Chattanooga1983 Chattanooga1984 Appalachian State1985 VMI1986 Chattanooga1987 Chattanooga1988 Chattanooga1989 Chattanooga1990 Chattanooga1991 Chattanooga1992 Chattanooga1993 Chattanooga1994 Chattanooga1995 Appalachian State, VMI1996 Appalachian State1997 Appalachian State, VMI, UNC-Greensboro1998 Chattanooga1999 Chattanooga2000 Chattanooga2001 Appalachian State2002 Chattanooga2003 Appalachian State

— UVa —

Print Friendly Version