Story Links

April 28, 2004

CHARLOTTESVILLE – Amy Appelt (women’s lacrosse), Tillman Johnson (men’s lacrosse) and Scott Moore (wrestling) were honored as the University of Virginia’s top female and male athletes for the 2003-04 academic year at Virginia’s annual awards dinner Wednesday (April 28) at University Hall. Appelt received the IMP Award as the top female athlete, and Johnson and Moore shared the WINA Award as the top male athlete.

Appelt, a junior from Garden City, N.Y., leads the nation in scoring and earned Atlantic Coast Conference Player of the Year honors this spring. She has 75 goals and 24 assists for 99 points this spring. Appelt established an ACC record with hat tricks (at least three goals in a game) in 13 consecutive games and her 75 goals is a school record. She has scored in every game of her collegiate career, and ranks second on Virginia’s career scoring list (256 points), third in goals (186) and third in assists (70). Appelt was honored as the National Player of the Week on March 15. She is a candidate for the Tewaaraton Trophy awarded to the nation’s top player and is a three-year starter who has started every game of her collegiate career.

Johnson, a senior from Annapolis, Md., earned first-team All-Atlantic Coast Conference honors for the third time this spring and is the first goalie in ACC history to earn All-Conference recognition three times. He is a candidate for the Tewaaraton Trophy awarded to the nation’s top player and is a four-year starter who has started every game of his collegiate career. He ranks first in Virginia men’s lacrosse history with 683 saves and is fourth on the ACC career list in that category.

Moore, a graduate student from Franklin, Pa., won the 141-pound championship at the 2004 ACC Tournament and earned All-America honors by finishing third in that weight class at the NCAA Championships. He won six other tournament championships and compiled an overall record of 51-1 (17-0 in dual match competition) with 34 victories by fall during the season. Moore’s 34 falls broke Virginia’s single season and career records, and his 51 victories are a UVa season record. The 2003-04 season was Moore’s only season of competition at Virginia.

Kathryn Jarvis, the director of academic affairs in UVa’s athletics department, received the Bus Male Service Award for her years of service to Virginia athletics.

Jennifer Reck (Grosse Point Park, Mich.) of the women’s rowing team and Luke Wagner (Englewood, Colo.) of the men’s swimming and diving team received UVa’s ACC Scholar-Athlete Awards. Reck also received the Jettie Hill Memorial Award as the senior female student-athlete with the highest scholastic average through her four years at Virginia, while Wagner also received the Gus Tebell Memorial Award as the senior male student-athlete with the highest grade point average through his four years at UVa.

Inge Jorgensen (New Wilmington, Pa.) of the women’s track and field team received the Craig Fielder Award for overcoming adversity and Bo Greenwood (Manakin, Va.) of the men’s swimming and diving team received the Ralph Sampson Scholarship Award. Jenn Wynn (Herndon, Va.) of the softball team received the Virginia Athletics Department’s Distinguished Student-Athlete Scholarship Award and Julie Creighton (Fairfax, Va.) of the women’s rowing team received the Ernest H. Ern, Jr. Award for outstanding contributions to student life at Virginia.

Grant Messick of the men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams was the recipient of the Bob Goodman Memorial Award for his service to Virginia athletics as a team manager and Jessica Myers (baseball, football, track and field) received the Tim Abbott Memorial Award presented to the assistant athletic trainer most dedicated to and possessing empathy for the student-athletes. Andrew Pickett (Satellite Beach, Fla.) of the men’s swimming and diving team was the recipient of the Susan J. Grossman Memorial Award in recognition of outstanding service to student-athletes and contributions to the Student Athlete Mentor Program. Ian Prichard (Ventura, Calif.) of the men’s swimming and diving team received the Life Skills Scholarship Award.

Virginia’s ACC Top VI Award recipients included Amy Baly (Atlanta, Ga., women’s swimming and diving), Bo Greenwood (Manakin, Va., men’s swimming and diving), Ryan Mooney (Absecon, N.J., men’s swimming and diving), Hannah Owings (Issaquah, Wash., softball), Davon Robb (Hopewell, Va., football) and Luke Wagner (Englewood, Colo., men’s swimming and diving).

Print Friendly Version