Story Links

April 7, 2005

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia honored its players at the 22nd Annual Women’s Basketball Awards Banquet on Thursday evening at Bryant Hall.

Earning the team’s coveted Cavalier of the Year award was senior Jocelyn Logan-Friend (Cheverly, Md.). The 6-1 forward was presented the Bob Williams Award for outstanding athletic and academic performances. One of four team captains, Logan-Friend was recognized for leading the team in rebounding.

Logan-Friend also shared the Best Defensive Player Award with fellow senior LaTonya Blue (Baltimore, Md.). Blue and senior Brandi Teamer (Joliet, Ill.) were honored as the Best Offensive Players.

A four-time All-ACC honoree and two-time ACC All-Defensive Team honoree, Blue was also recognized with the Highest Free Throw Percentage Award (.748). Teamer was Virginia’s scoring leader for the second straight year.

Point guard Sharnee Zoll (Marlboro, N.J.) earned Rookie of the Year honors. The 5-7 ACC Honorable Mention All-Freshman honoree also earned the Pre-Season Conditioning and Best Player in Practice Awards. Dishing out a freshman record 159 assists (formerly held by All-American Dawn Staley in 1989 with 144 assists), Zoll was recognized for leading the team in assists. For her efforts, Zoll was awarded the Alumni Scholarship for next season as the Cavalier who best exemplifies the spirit and dedication that make Virginia women’s basketball successful.

Senior co-captains Kate Kreager (Oak Hill, Va.) and Logan-Friend shared the team’s Leadership Award. Kreager was a two-time team captain during her tenure.

Sharing the team’s Most Improved Player Award were freshman Takisha Granberry (Charlotte, N.C.) and sophomore Brenna McGuire (Winchester, Mass.). Granberry provided the Cavaliers with a huge spark off the bench, while McGuire paced the Hoos is three-point shooting.

Junior Tiffany Sardin (Chicago, Ill.) and sophomore Siedah Williams (Cleveland, Ohio) were named the squads’s Unsung Heroes. A two-time team captain, Sardin was also presented the Thomas J. Ryan Memorial Scholarship for next season as a hard-working player committed to success. Williams shot a team-best 51 percent from the field.

Receiving the Coach’s Award for outstanding contributions to the team were Cady Condyles (video services), Veronica Molina (Residence Inn), Ed Nordenschild (strength & conditioning coach), Katie Purcell (head team manager), and Chris Walters (team manager).


Cavalier of the Year:
Jocelyn Logan-Friend

Best Offensive Players:
LaTonya Blue
Brandi Teamer

Best Defensive Players:
LaTonya Blue
Jocelyn Logan-Friend

Rookie of the Year:
Sharnee Zoll

Most Improved Players:
Takisha Granberry
Brenna McGuire

Leadership Awards:
Kate Kreager
Jocelyn Logan-Friend

Unsung Hero:
Tiffany Sardin
Siedah Williams

Preseason Conditioning Award:
Sharnee Zoll

Best Player in Practice:
Sharnee Zoll

Highest Free Throw Pct.:
LaTonya Blue

Rebounding Award:
Jocelyn Logan-Friend

Most Assists:
Sharnee Zoll

Coach’s Awards:
Cady Condyles
Veronica Molina
Ed Nordenschild
Katie Purcell
Chris Walters

Bob Williams Award:
Jocelyn Logan-Friend

Alumni Scholarship:
Sharnee Zoll

Thomas J. Ryan Scholarship:
Tiffany Sardin

Print Friendly Version