Story Links

Nov. 7, 2005

CHARLOTTESVILLE – Three members of the Virginia Men’s soccer team were honored by the Atlantic Coast Conference as the All-ACC Soccer Teams were announced Monday. First-year forward Yannick Reyering (Mettingen, Germany) was named to the All-ACC First Team and All-Freshman Team, as he was one of three Cavaliers to be named All-ACC.

Reyering leads the team with 11 goals and 23 points. He scored six goals, accounting for 12 points in ACC play.

Third-year forward Adam Cristman (Glen Allen, Va.) and second-year midfielder Nico Colaluca (Coventry, R.I.) were named to the All-ACC Second Team. Cristman is second on the team in goals (7), assists (6) and points (20). He earns second team honors for the first time. Colaluca earns second team honors for the second time after being a second team selection last year. This season, he accounted for five points for the Cavaliers scoring two goals and assisting on another. He has played 1,098 minutes in 14 games started for UVa.

The Maryland Terrapins, 2005 ACC regular season champions, and the North Carolina Tar Heels led all schools with four honorees each on this season’s All-Conference teams. Duke and Virginia each had three selections, while Clemson, NC State and Wake Forest placed a pair of student-athletes on the All-ACC squads. Boston College and Virginia Tech rounded out the recipients with one apiece.

All nine schools were represented on this year’s All-ACC Freshmen team with Maryland, North Carolina and Wake Forest leading the way with two selections each. Boston College, Clemson, Duke, NC State, Virginia and Virginia Tech each placed one player on the squad.

Maryland’s Jason Garey was tabbed ACC Offensive Player of the Year. Nathan Sturgis of Clemson was honored as the ACC Defensive Player of the Year. Virginia Tech’s Patrick Nyarko was named the ACC Freshman of the Year. For the second time in his career, Maryland’s Sasho Cirovski was selected as the ACC Coach of the Year.

2005 All-ACC First Team
Kenney Bertz, Defender, Maryland
Blake Camp, Midfield, Duke
Jason Garey, Forward, Maryland
Aaron King, Forward, NC State
Phil Marfuggi, Goalkeeper, Clemson
Dax McCarty, Midfield, North Carolina
Justin Moose, Forward, Wake Forest
Patrick Nyarko, Forward, Virginia Tech
Yannick Reyering, Forward, Virginia
Nathan Sturgis, Defender, Clemson
Michael Videira, Midfield, Duke

2005 All-ACC Second Team
Scott Campbell, Midfield, North Carolina
Nico Colaluca, Midfield, Virginia
Adam Cristman, Forward, Virginia
Maurice Edu, Midfield, Maryland
Jorge Gonzalez, Goalkeeper, NC State
Michael Harrington, Defender, North Carolina
Chris Loftus, Midfield, Duke
Sherron Manswell, Forward, Boston College
Chris Seitz, Goalkeeper, Maryland
Andre Sherard, Defender, North Carolina
Ryan Solle, Midfield, Wake Forest

2005 All-ACC Freshmen Team
Reuben Ayarna, Midfield, Boston College
Ronnie Bouemboue, Defender, NC State
Michael Callahan, Midfield, North Carolina
Scott Campbell, Midfield, North Carolina
Sam Cronin, Midfield, Wake Forest
Mike Grella, Forward, Duke
Michael Lahoud, Forward, Wake Forest
Bryson Moore, Midfield, Clemson
Patrick Nyarko, Forward, Virginia Tech
Yannick Reyering, Forward, Virginia
Robbie Rogers, Forward, Maryland
Chris Seitz, Goalkeeper, Maryland

2005 Offensive Player of the Year
Jason Garey, Maryland

2005 Defensive Player of the Year
Nathan Sturgis, Clemson

2005 Freshman of the Year
Patrick Nyarko, Virginia Tech

2005 Coach of the Year
Sasho Cirovski, Maryland

Print Friendly Version