Story Links

Terre Haute, Ind. The men’s cross country team came in fourth at the Pre-Nationals meet as the five scorers came across in a span of 31 seconds, while All-American Emily Harrison finished fourth overall to lead the women’s team. Andy Biladeau was the first runner across for the men, covering the 8K distance in 23:42, 21st overall. Harrison ran a 20:05 over the 6K distance. The Virginia men, ranked 28th in the latest poll, upset ten ranked teams, including No. 2 Wisconsin, No. 6 Oklahoma State, and No. 8 Alabama. Wisconsin had received one first-place vote in last week’s poll.

Biladeau was followed by first-year Emil Heineking, who ran 23:55. Just behind him was All-American Jan Foerster, running in his first race of the year. He covered the race in 23:58. Ryan Foster (24:09) and Andrew Jesien (24:13) ran fourth and fifth, respectively, for the men. The men also defeated Southeast Regional foe No. 17 Louisville and ACC-rival No. 25 Florida State while also beating No. 13 Portland, No. 19 UCLA, No. 22 Villanova, No. 23 Iowa State, and No. 27 Washington.

Harrison was less than ten seconds off the first-place finisher, running a phenomenal time on the same course the 2007 NCAA Championships will be held. The Virginia women, running without All-Americans Katie Read and Kara Scanlin, finished 18th overall.

“The men ran an outstanding race and the results today are consistent with our goals towards ACCs and being in the top-10 nationally,” said head coach Jason Dunn. “Emily Harrison did a great job in leading the women, and once we get some of our runners back, her leadership will be key for us as we continue to move forward.”

The Cavaliers will return home to host the 2007 ACC Championships at Panorama Farms on Saturday, October 27. The races will begin at 10 a.m. (men) and 11 a.m. (women).

Full Results:
Men’s teams
1. Northern Arizona, 124
2. Iona, 136
3. California, 157
4. Virginia, 203
5. Alabama, 207
6. Tulsa, 240

21. Andy Biladeau, 23:42
33. Emil Heineking, 23:55
40. Jan Foerster, 23:58
49. Ryan Foster, 24:09
60. Andrew Jesien, 24:13
107. Taylor Smith, 24:42
137. Trey Miller, 24:53

4. Emily Harrison, 20:05
64. Stephanie Garcia, 21:23
141. Suzanne Ginnow, 22:09
144. Samantha Stafford, 22:11
163. Susan Brooks, 22:25
171. Diana Burk, 22:37
184. Sara Casscells, 22:42

Print Friendly Version