Story Links

GREENSBORO, NC Four Virginia student-athletes are among the 40 Atlantic Coast Conference scholar-athletes recognized by the conference through its annual presentation of postgraduate scholarships and awards.

Three Cavalier student-athletes received Weaver-James-Corrigan scholarships for postgraduate study. That group includes Mary Eddy from the rowing team, volleyball player Sarah Kirkwood and Becky Sauerbrunn of the women’s soccer team.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan scholarships are given to selected student-athletes who intend to pursue a graduate-level degree following graduation. Each recipient will receive $5,000 to use towards his or her graduate education. Student-athletes receiving the scholarships have performed with distinction in both the classroom and in their respective sports, while demonstrating exemplary conduct in the community.

Football player Tom Santi was among six student-athletes to receive the Weaver-James-Corrigan Honorary Award. These individuals who intend to compete at the Olympic or professional level, are recognized for their outstanding performance in both athletic competition and the classroom throughout their collegiate careers.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan scholarships and awards are named in honor of the late Jim Weaver and Bob James as well as Gene Corrigan, all former ACC commissioners. The league’s first commissioner, James H. Weaver, served the conference from 1954 to 1970 after a stint as the Director of Athletics at Wake Forest University. His early leadership and uncompromising integrity are largely responsible for the excellent reputation enjoyed by the ACC today.

Robert C. James, a former University of Maryland football player, was named commissioner in 1971 and served for 16 years. During his tenure, the league continued to grow in stature and became recognized as a national leader in athletics and academics, winning 23 national championships and maintaining standards of excellence in the classroom.

Eugene F. Corrigan assumed his role as the third full-time commissioner on September 1, 1987, and served until August of 1997. During Corrigan’s tenure, ACC schools captured 30 NCAA championships and two national football titles.

Bios on UVa Award Winners
Mary Eddy, Rowing, Virginia

A three-year veteran of the Cavalier rowing program entering the 2008 season…Was the coxswain for Virginia’s Varsity Four boat that won the 2007 NCAA Championship and ACC Championships in both 2006 and 2007…Was named to the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association’s National Scholar-Athlete team in 2007 and has been a member of the All-ACC Academic team in each of the past three years…Serves as a resident adviser on Grounds and is a research assistant in the Clinical Research Lab at the UVa Medical Center.

Sarah Kirkwood, Volleyball, Virginia
A finalist for a Rhodes Scholarship…Became the first All-American to be named multiple times in the history of the Virginia volleyball program in 2007 when she received honorable-mention honors…Collected first-team All-ACC honors and was named to the AVCA All-East region team in 2007… A three-time Academic All-American, earning first team honors as a junior and selected for the second team following her senior and sophomore campaigns…Is one of only four student-athletes to have been named to the All-ACC Academic Volleyball team in 2005, 2006 and 2007…Had the honor of being one of the UVa undergraduate students selected to live on The Lawn as a senior.

Rebecca Sauerbrunn, Women’s Soccer, Virginia
Was named the 2007 NSCAA Women’s Scholar Athlete of the Year in January of 2008…Was a member of the All-ACC Academic team in 2006…Named an NSCAA first-team All-American, and the ACC Defensive Player of the Year in 2007…Anchored a Virginia defense that led the nation in goals against average (0.40) and set a school record with 15 shutouts a year ago…Is the only three-time NSCAA All-American in Virginia history and one of only two Cavaliers to be twice named a first team All-American…Currently a member of the U.S. National Team…Has been active in Special Olympics, the Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals and local activities supporting Multiple Sclerosis fundraising.

Michael Thomas Santi, Jr., Football, Virginia
Recognized by the ACC at the league’s annual awards luncheon as the winner of the 2007 Jim Tatum Award, given annually to the conference’s top football student-athlete…Received All-ACC Academic team honors for the third straight year in 2007… Earned second-team All-ACC honors in 2007 after catching 36 passes for a team-leading 418 yards and three touchdowns…Received his degree in sociology in January 2008, a semester early…Was presented the Joe Palumbo Award for self-sacrifice, dedication and enthusiasm at UVa’s annual football team awards banquet in 2007…Was a captain on the 2007 team.

Print Friendly Version