Story Links

Charlottesville, VA The National Football Foundation announced today that former Virginia offensive tackle Jim Dombrowski has been selected to the College Football Hall of Fame’s class for 2008. He is one of 13 former players and two coaches who will be the newest inductees into the Hall.

Dombrowski will become the fourth Virginia player inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. The other players include (year inducted): HB Bill Dudley (1956), DE Tom Scott (1979) and MG Joe Palumbo (1999). Three former Cavalier head coaches are also enshrined in the Hall. That trio includes Earle “Greasy” Neale (1967), Frank Murray (1983) and George Welsh (2004).

Dombrowski and the other players selected for the Hall of Fame will be honored at the National Football Foundation’s Annual Awards Dinner in New York City on Dec. 9.

Dombrowski, from Williamsville, N.Y., anchored Virginia’s offensive line for four straight seasons (1982-85) and finished his brilliant college football career as UVa’s first-ever unanimous All-American. In addition, the tackle became only the fifth Cavalier player to have his number (73) retired.

The two-time winner of the Jacobs Blocking Trophy (recognizing the ACC’s best blocker) helped lead UVa to three straight winning seasons and a 27-24 victory over Purdue in the 1984 Peach Bowl. Following Virginia’s 6-5 season in 1985, Dombrowski was named to All-America teams by The Associated Press, College & Pro Football Newsweekly, Football News, Football Writers Association of America, Kodak, The Sporting News, United Press International, Walter Camp Foundation, and by Mizlou television
network and Independent Insurance Agents.

He was selected by the New Orleans Saints in the first round (sixth pick) of the 1986 NFL Draft. He spent 11 seasons with the Saints (1986-96) and played in a club-record 147 consecutive games. He was inducted into the Saints’ Hall of Fame in 2003.

Dombrowski was named to the ACC Football Legends in 2006. He currently resides in New Orleans.

The other 12 players selected for the College Football Hall of Fame are QB Troy Aikman (UCLA, 1987-88), RB Billy Cannon (LSU, 1957-59), LB Pat Fitzgerald (Northwestern, 1994-96), LB Wilber Marshall (Florida, 1980-83), RB Rueben Mayes (Washington State, 1982-85), OG Randall McDaniel (Arizona State, 1984-87), QB Don McPherson (Syracuse, 1984-87), TE Jay Novacek (Wyoming, 1982-84), SE Dave Parks (Texas Tech, 1961-63), NG Ron Simmons (Florida State, 1977-80), RB Thurman Thomas (Oklahoma State, 1984-87) and QB Arnold Tucker (Army, 1944-46).

The coaches are John Cooper (Tulsa 1977-84, Arizona State 1985-87 and Ohio State 1988-2000) and Lou Holtz (William & Mary 1969-71, NC State 1972-74, Arkansas 1977-83, Minnesota 1984-85, Notre Dame 1986-96 and South Carolina 1999-2004).

Print Friendly Version