Story Links

Charlottesville, VA First-year Virginia women’s golf coach Kim Lewellen was named the Atlantic Coast Conference coach of the year today. Two Cavaliers, junior Lene Krog and freshman Calle Nielson, were first-team All-ACC selections.

Lewellen led UVa to a runner-up finish at the ACC Championships, finishing one-shot behind 13-time champion Duke. The Cavaliers are the No. 7 seed in the NCAA East Regional Championship that starts Thursday at the University of Georgia Golf Course. UVa is ranked No. 20 in this week’s Golfstat standings and No. 21 by Golfweek. Virginia finished in the top four in four of its nine tournaments this season. The team set school records for single-round scoring (284) and tournament scoring (872) at the ACC Championships.

Lewellen’s selection marks the seventh time this year a Cavalier coach has received ACC Coach of the Year honors. Jason Dunn was named for men’s cross country, Al Groh for football, Mark Bernardino for men’s and women’s swimming, Kevin Sauer for rowing and Brian Boland for men’s tennis.

Lewellen becomes the second UVa coach in the last four years to receive ACC Coach of the Year honors. Jan Mann was selected in 2005.

Krog is in her first season at UVa after transferring from East Carolina. She has played in all nine tournaments and leads the team in stroke average at 74.56. She is currently ranked No. 45 by Golfweek and No. 51 in the Golfstat Cup standings. Krog was a Conference USA all-league pick as a freshman (first team) and sophomore (second team) while competing for the Pirates.

Nielson, a freshman, is second on the team with a 74.61 stroke average. She was third at the ACC Championships and is ranked No. 38 by Golfweek and No. 46 by Golfstat.

Krog and Nielson become the fourth and fifth players to earn All-ACC honors in UVa’s five-year history. Leah Wigger was a four-time selection from 2004-2007, Lauren Mielbrecht was honored in 2006 and Jennie Arseneault was selected in 2007.

2008 All-ACC Women’s Golf Team

Name School Yr. Hometown
Amanda Blumenherst Duke Jr. Scottsdale, Ariz.
Jennie Lee Duke Jr. Henderson, Nev.
Jennifer Pandolfi Duke Sr. Navarre, Fla.
Alison Whitake Duke So. Melbourne, Australia
Caroline Westrup Florida State Jr. Ahus, Sweden
Kelly Calkin Maryland Sr. Charles, Ill.
Sydney Crane North Carolina Jr. Jamestown, N.C.
Lauren Doughtie NC State Jr. Suffolk, Va.
Lene Krog Virginia Jr. Lier, Norway
Calle Nielson Virginia Fr. Nashville, Tenn.
Nannette Hill Wake Forest Jr. Pelham, N.Y.
Natalie Sheary Wake Forest Fr. West Hartford, Conn.

ACC Player of the Year: Amanda Blumenherst, Duke
ACC Freshman of the Year: Natalie Sheary, Wake Forest
ACC Coach of the Year: Kim Lewellen, Virginia

Print Friendly Version