Story Links

The Virginia men’s golf team opens play at the NCAA East Regional Thursday. The Cavaliers tee off at 7:47 a.m. from the first tee at the Council Fire Golf Club in Chattanooga, Tenn. The 54-hole event runs through Saturday. The Cavaliers will start their second round at 12:59 p.m. from the 10th tee on Friday. The top 10 teams from the regional will advance to the NCAA Championships along with the top two individuals from each site. The NCAA Championships are scheduled for May 28-31 at Purdue’s Birck Boilermaker Golf Complex-The Kampen Course. Virginia, the No. 22 seed in the East Regional, is making its first postseason appearance since 2005. Links to live scoring of the event are at and

The Lineups
Virginia’s lineup for the NCAA East Regional will include senior Greg Carlin, junior Conrad Von Borsig, sophomores Steven Rojas and Kyle Stough and freshman Will Collins. Carlin is the only UVa golfer with NCAA Regional experience. He played at the East Regional in 2005 when the Cavaliers placed 12th overall. He was 116th with rounds of 79, 74 and 77 to finish at 17-over 230.

NCAA History
The 2008 NCAA East Regional marks the 12th time the Cavaliers have earned to bid to a regional site. The Cavaliers last regional appearance was in 2005 when Virginia finished 12th. UVa’s last appearance at the NCAA Championships was in 2000 when the team placed 25th. The Cavaliers have played in the NCAA Championships 10 times during the program’s history.

Two-Time Champs
Virginia won a pair of tournaments during the 2007-08 season. The Cavaliers placed first at the Palmas Del Mar Collegiate in Puerto Rico, shooting 7-under 857. Virginia won its own Cavalier Classic in its last outing with a 36-hole total of 575. UVa’s other strong showings included a third-place finish at Florida State’s Seminole Intercollegiate and a fourth-place effort at Notre Dame’s Fighting Irish Gridiron Classic.

Regional Field
The field for the East Regional includes (listed by seed): Georgia, Charlotte, South Carolina, Duke, Tennessee-Chattanooga, Auburn, East Tennessee State, Michigan State, Mississippi, Alabama-Birmingham, Virginia Tech, NC State, Mississippi State, Georgia State, North Florida, Cal-Irvine, Augusta State, SMU, Middle Tennessee, Coastal Carolina, Memphis, Virginia, Western Carolina, Colorado State, New Mexico State, Western Illinois and Jackson State.

Print Friendly Version