Story Links

CHARLOTTESVILLE – Virginia junior Michael Shabaz (Fairfax, Va.) was named the Most Outstanding Player of the 2010 ITA National Team Indoor Championships the Intercollegiate Tennis Association announced Thursday. Shabaz was one of four Cavaliers named to the All-Tournament team after Virginia won its third consecutive championship.

Shabaz went 2-0 in singles at the No. 1 position for the Cavaliers in the tournament, recording wins over Nate Schnugg of Georgia in the quarterfinal and second-ranked John-Patrick Smith of Tennessee in the final.

Shabaz becomes the third Cavalier to be named the tournament’s most outstanding player, joining Sanam Singh (2008) and Somdev Devvarman (2007).

Virginia had four players named to the all-tournament team. Shabaz was the All-Tournament selection at No. 1 singles, while Singh was selected at No. 2 singles, Drew Courtney (Clifton, Va.) was selected at No. 4 singles and Houston Barrick (Brentwood, Tenn.) was selected at No. 5 singles.

The Cavaliers will return to action on Saturday when they host a doubleheader at the Boyd Tinsley Courts at the Boar’s Head Sports Club. Virginia hosts LSU at 1 p.m. and Boston College at 6 p.m.

2010 ITA National Team Indoor Championship All-Tournament Team

1. Michael Shabaz (Virginia)
2. Sanam Singh (Virginia)
3. Rhyne Williams (Tennessee)
4. Drew Courtney (Virginia)
5. Houston Barrick (Virginia)
6. Nassam Slilam (Florida)

1. John-Patrick Smith/Davey Sandgren (Tennessee)
2. Rhyne Williams/Boris Conkic (Tennessee)
3. Jean Andersen/Daniel Whitehead (Texas)

Print Friendly Version