Story Links

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Virginia senior All-American Brittany Kalkstein has been named one of the five finalists for the 2010 Tewaaraton Trophy, as announced today by the Greater Washington Sports Alliance and the University Club of Washington, D.C.

The Tewaaraton Award is presented to the most outstanding men’s and women’s collegiate lacrosse player as determined by two selection committees, consisting of collegiate coaches throughout all divisions of the sport.

Kalkstein is among three ACC athletes to be named finalists, as Maryland’s Caitlyn McFadden and North Carolina’s Jenn Russell join Penn’s Ali DeLuca and Northwestern’s Katrina Dowd to round out this year’s finalists.

“I truly believe that each of these finalists has showcased the ability to step forward and claim the Tewaaraton Award as their own this year,” stated Robert Sweeny, President of the Greater Washington Sorts Alliance. “As I have stated throughout the season, the selection committees have done an extraordinary job at selecting the top contenders battling for this year’s award. Everyone is welcome to come out and see which of these finalists has stepped forward to claim their place in history at the June 3 Award Ceremony.”

Kalkstein, a 2010 All-ACC honoree, has made a name for herself throughout the midfield this season. With 90 draw controls this year, Kalkstein broke her own single season record at Virginia and is ranked third nationally in the category. She also surpassed the all-time career mark at Virginia and the ACC earlier this season, currently owning 280 – the fourth-best career mark in the NCAA.

The captain is also among the team leaders offensively and defensively. Scoring a point in the last 19 games for the Cavaliers, including all 18 this season, Kalkstein is tied for the team lead in goals (37), while sitting second in points (56), ground balls (36) and caused turnovers (25). With 131 career goals, she currently sits eighth on Virginia’s all-time list.

Voted by her teammates as this year’s team MVP, Kalkstein was a two-time ACC Player of the Week in 2010, being honored with the weekly award on March 4 and March 23. She was also named the national player of the week on March 1 by and by Nike/Inside Lacrosse on March 2.

Kalkstein becomes just the fourth Cavalier to be named a Tewaaraton Trophy finalist. Former All-Americans Lauren Aumiller (’02, ’03) and Amy Appelt (’04, ’05) were two-time finalists, while Nikki Lieb was honored in 2006. Appelt is Virginia’s only recipient of the Tewaaraton Award, winning the trophy in 2004.

All finalists will be invited to the 10th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony taking place on June 3 in Washington, D.C., at the Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian. This is the third time that the ceremony has taken place in the Museum which includes an exhibit on the Native roots and history of lacrosse. For more information please visit

Print Friendly Version