Story Links

WHITE PLAINS, N.Y. — Virginia men’s tennis players Jarmere Jenkins (College Park, Ga.) and Drew Courtney (Clifton, Va.) were named to the 2010 USTA Summer Collegiate Team. The two Cavaliers were among the 25 men’s and women’s collegiate players selected to this year’s squad.

The USTA Summer Collegiate Team is an elite training program for the top American collegiate tennis players. The program began in 1996 and is funded by the USTA. It is designed to provide college players with valuable exposure to the USTA Pro Circuit in a team-oriented environment during the summer months.

The top six American players from the season-ending ITA national singles rankings are eligible for automatic selections. The remaining players on each team were selected by USTA Player Development staff in conjunction with USTA National Coaches, and current collegiate coaches. Eighteen of the players selected received 2010 ITA All-American honors.

For the second consecutive year, each team will have two coaches. Jamea Jackson, Assistant Coach of Women’s Tennis at Oklahoma State University and Julia Scaringe, Assistant Coach of Women’s Tennis at Notre Dame, will coach the women’s team, while Chris Brandi, Assistant Coach of Men’s Tennis at Baylor University, and Bo Hodge, Assistant Coach of Men’s Tennis at the University of Alabama, will be coaching the men’s team. Brandi also coached the men’s team in 2009.

2010 USTA Summer Collegiate Team

Men’s Team
Sekou Bangoura, Florida (FR, Bradenton, Fla.)
Chase Buchanan, Ohio State (SO, New Albany, Ohio)
Drew Courtney, Virginia (SO, Clifton, Va.)
Jarmere Jenkins, Virginia (FR, College Park, Ga.)
Steve Johnson, Southern California (SO, Orange, Calif.)
Evan King, Michigan (FR, Chicago)
Bradley Klahn, Stanford (SO, Poway, Calif.)
Austin Krajicek, Texas A&M (JR, Brandon, Fla.)
Daniel Nguyen, Southern California (SO, Oxnard, Calif.)
Eric Quigley, Kentucky (SO, Pewee Valley, Ky.)
Tennys Sandgren, Tennessee (FR, Gallatin, Tenn.)
Bob van Overbeek, Florida (FR, Boca Raton, Fla.)
Rhyne Williams, Tennessee (FR, Knoxville, Tenn.)

Women’s Team
Hilary Barte, Stanford (JR, Chatsworth, Calif.)
Lindsay Burdette, Stanford (SR, Jackson, Ga.)
Mallory Burdette, Stanford (FR, Jackson, Ga.)
Aeriel Ellis, Texas (FR, Hayward, Calif.)
Lauren Embree, Florida (FR, Marco Island, Fla.)
Irina Falconi, Georgia Tech (SO, Jupiter, Fla.)
Kristy Frilling, Notre Dame (SO, Sidney, Ohio)
McCall Jones, BYU (SO, Orange County, Calif.)
Danielle Lao, Southern California (FR, Arcadia, Calif.)
Maria Sanchez, Southern California (JR, Modesto, Calif.)
Caitlin Whoriskey, Tennessee (SR, East Sandwich, Mass.)
Allie Will, Florida (FR, Boca Raton, Fla.)

Print Friendly Version