Story Links

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Junior forward Brian Ownby (Glen Allen, Va.) and rookie forward/midfielder Brian Span (Somers, N.Y.) have earned Atlantic Coast Conference postseason honors, the league announced Tuesday (Nov. 9). Ownby was named to the All-Conference First Team and Span earned a spot on the All-Freshmen Team.

Ownby is the first UVa player to earn first team honors since Yannick Reyering in 2007. He has scored seven goals and tallied three assists in 2010, and has recorded two game-winning goals. This is his second All-ACC honor after being named to the All-Freshmen Team in 2008.

Ownby was a member of the 2009 NCAA College Cup All-Tournament Team after scoring the golden goal vs. Wake Forest in the national semifinal for the eventual NCAA Champion Cavaliers. Earlier in the 2009 season, Ownby was one of 21 players that represented the United States at the FIFA Under-20 World Cup in Egypt.

Span ranks third on the team with five goals and three assists. He has a game-winning goal and has started 15 matches in 2010. Span was recently named the fourth-ranked freshmen in the nation by

Duke’s Ryan Finley was named named the Offensive Player of the Year and Blue Devil defender Andrew Wenger was named the Defensive Player of the Year. North Carolina’s Elmar Bolowich earned ACC Coach of the Year honors and Maryland’s Patrick Mullins was named the Freshman of the Year.

Virginia is seeded sixth at the 2010 ACC Tournament and faces third-seeded Wake Forest on Wednesday (Nov. 10) in Cary, N.C. Kick-off at WakeMed Soccer Park is scheduled for 2:30 p.m.

2010 All-ACC First Team
Name, School, Yr., Position

Charlie Rugg, Boston College, So., F
Ryan Finley, Duke, So., F
Cole Grossman, Duke, Sr., M
Andrew Wenger, Duke, So., D
Jason Herrick, Maryland, Sr., F
Matt Kassel, Maryland, Jr., M
Zac MacMath, Maryland, Jr., GK
Casey Townsend, Maryland, Jr., F
Jalil Anibaba, North Carolina, Sr., D
Michael Farfan, North Carolina, Sr., M
Brian Ownby, Virginia, Jr., F

2010 All-ACC Second Team
Name, School, Yr., Position

Kyle Bekker, Boston College, So., M
James Belshaw, Duke, So., GK
Ethan White, Maryland, So., D
Eddie Ababio, North Carolina, Sr., D
Enzo Martinez, North Carolina, So., M
Stephen McCarthy, North Carolina, Sr., M
Kirk Urso, North Carolina, Jr., M
Tyler Lassiter, NC State, Sr., D
Clarke Bentley, Virginia Tech, Sr., M
Anthony Arena, Wake Forest, Jr., D
Andy Lubahn, Wake Forest, So., F
Akira Fitzgerald, Wake Forest, Sr., GK

2010 All-Freshmen Team
Name, School, Position

Chris Ager, Boston College, D
Cody Mizell, Clemson, GK
Sebastien Ibeagha, Duke, D
Jonathan Aguirre, Duke, M
Patrick Mullins, Maryland, M
Bruno Castro, North Carolina, M
Sonny Mukungu, NC State, D
Brian Span, Virginia, F/M
Jared Watts, Wake Forest, M
Luca Gimenez, Wake Forest, M
Kyle Emerson, Wake Forest, M

Offensive Player of the Year – Ryan Finley, Duke
Defensive Player of the Year
– Andrew Wenger, Duke
Freshman of the Year
– Patrick Mullins, Maryland
Coach of the Year
– Elmar Bolowich, North Carolina

Print Friendly Version