Story Links

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Senior All-American Liz Downs and junior Julie Gardner have been named to the 2011 Tewaaraton Award Watch List, as announced by the Greater Washington Sports Alliance Friday.

Downs, from Alexandria, Va., is the anchor to the Cavaliers’ defense. The co-captain has started every game of her career and is a two-time All-South Region Second Team selection. In addition, she earned All-ACC and All-ACC Academic Team honors in 2010. Throughout her career, Downs has earned 71 ground balls, caused 42 turnovers and won 38 draw controls.

Gardner hails from Severna Park, Md. The attacker has started every game of her career and has recorded 73 points on 57 goals and 16 assists. She has also scooped up 45 ground balls, won 28 draw controls and caused 22 turnovers. Gardner was an All-ACC Academic Team honoree in 2009.

The Tewaaraton Award was formally established in August of 2000 by The University Club of Washington, DC and is the pre-eminent lacrosse award, which is awarded annually to the NCAA male and female lacrosse players of the year. Tradition dictates that each year the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy: the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca, and the Tuscarora. The 11th annual Tewaaraton Award event is set to recognize the Year of the Tuscarora.

This year’s Tewaaraton Award will be presented on June 2, 2011 at the historical Warner Theatre in Washington, D.C. Event details and ticket information can be found at

Women’s 2011 Tewaaraton Award Watch List
Casey Ancarrow, James Madison University
Kelly Barnes, Georgetown University
Shaylyn Blaney, University of Notre Dame
Sarah Bray, Hamilton College
Erin Brennan, University of Pennsylvania
Sarah Bullard, Duke University
Ally Carey, Vanderbilt University
Kat Collins, Dartmouth University
Kitty Cullen, University of Florida
Brittany Dipper, University of Maryland
Jackie Doherty, University of Notre Dame
Corey Donohoe, University of North Carolina
Liz Downs, University of Virginia
Maggie Dunbar, Pennsylvania State University
Lauren Dykstra, Lehigh University
Bergan Foley, University of Louisville
Alex Frank, Northwestern University
Julie Gardner, University of Virginia
Grace Gavin, Loyola University, Maryland
Giulia Giordano, University of Pennsylvania
Grace Golden, William and Mary
Katie Hertsch, Hofstra University
Liz Hogan, Syracuse University
Mia Hurrin, University of North Carolina
Kristin Igoe, Boston College
Alison Jaeger, The College of New Jersey
Karri Ellen Johnson, University of Maryland
Sarah Jonson, William and Mary
Christie Kaestner, Duke University
Jordyn Kirr, Georgetown University
Tee Ladouceur, Syracuse University
Mary Kate Lomady, James Madison University
Logan McCraw, Georgetown University
Laura Merrifield, University of Maryland
Greta Meyer, Dartmouth University
Sarah Mollison, University of Maryland
Ashley Olen, C.W. Post
Claire Petersen, Adelphi University
Abby Rehfuss, Loyola University, Maryland
Lauren Schmidt, Stanford University
Katie Schwarzmann, University of Maryland
Shannon Smith, Northwestern University
Jessi Steinberg, Cornell University
Kat Thomas, Duke University
Taylor Thornton, Northwestern University
Erin Tochihara, Princeton University
Michelle Tumolo, Syracuse University
Laura Zimmerman, University of North Carolina

Print Friendly Version