Story Links

CHARLOTTESVILLE-Emily Fraser (women’s tennis) and Steele Stanwick (men’s lacrosse) were honored as Virginia’s top female and male athletes for the 2011-12 academic year at UVa’s annual awards dinner on May 2 at John Paul Jones Arena. Fraser received the IMP Award as the top female athlete and Stanwick the WINA Award as the top male athlete.

Fraser, a senior from Rye, N.Y., has a singles record of 27-13 this season, including a record of 12-5 in No. 1 singles competition in dual match play. She is currently ranked No. 21 nationally and earlier this season was ranked as high as No. 15, the highest ranking for a UVa women’s tennis player in 17 years. In doubles competition Fraser and teammate Lindsey Hardenbergh have compiled a 9-2 record and are currently ranked No. 20 nationally.

Fraser earned All-Atlantic Coast Conference honors for the second time in her career this season and has been selected to compete in the NCAA singles and doubles competition for the second consecutive year. She has a career record of 102-54 in singles competition.

Stanwick, a senior attackman from Baltimore, Md., was named the ACC Offensive Player of the Year this spring after being named the ACC Player of the Year in 2011. This is the first year the ACC had separate player of the year awards for offense and defense in men’s lacrosse. Stanwick is the first Virginia men’s lacrosse player to receive two ACC Player of the Year awards during a career.

He currently leads the nation in assists (45) and is third nationally in points per game (5.1 average). He has scored 26 goals this season and is first in Virginia’s men’s lacrosse history in career points with 260 (123 goals, 137 assists). Stanwick was named ACC Player of the Week three times this season, the first men’s lacrosse player in conference history to accomplish the feat, and he is a finalist for this year’s Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award for men’s lacrosse.

Last year Stanwick received the Tewaaraton Trophy as the top male collegiate lacrosse player and earned first-team All-America honors. He was the ACC Rookie of the Year in 2009 and earned second-team All-America honors in 2010.

Gordon Burris, senior assistant to UVa President Teresa A. Sullivan, was the recipient of the Bus Male Service Award for his years of service to the athletics department. Burris has served the University in various capacities during his career, including tenures as the men’s soccer, tennis and golf coach. He also served as assistant dean of admission, associate director of the Alumni Association, and as assistant athletics director and director for development and major gifts for the Virginia Student Aid Foundation (now the Virginia Athletics Foundation).

Lauren Greenlief (Oakton, Va.) of the women’s golf team and David Karasek (Meisterschwanden, Switzerland) of the men’s swimming and diving team received UVa’s ACC Scholar-Athlete Awards. Erin Malapit (Springfield, Va.) of the cheerleading squad received the Susan J. Grossman Memorial Award in recognition of outstanding service to student-athletes and contributions to the Student-Athlete Mentor Program. Morgan Joseph (Ellicott City, Md.) of the rowing team and Matthias Meyer (Suhlendorf, Germany) of the men’s track and field team were co-recipients of the Ernest H. Ern, Jr., Award for outstanding contributions to student life at Virginia.

Anna Corrigan (Burke, Va.) of the women’s cross country and track and field teams received the Jettie Hill Memorial Award as the fourth-year female student-athlete with the highest scholastic average through her four years at Virginia, while Matt Snyder (Lewistown, Pa.) of the wrestling team received the Gus Tebell Memorial Award as the fourth-year male student-athlete with the highest scholastic average through his four years at Virginia.

Matt Nelson (Pittsburgh, Pa.) of the wrestling team received the Craig Fielder Memorial Award for overcoming adversity and Lelan Bailey (Millersville, Md.) of the women’s lacrosse team was the recipient of the Ralph Sampson Scholarship Award. Megan Dunleavy (Fairfax Station, Va.) of the women’s lacrosse team received the Virginia Athletics Department’s Distinguished Student-Athlete Scholarship Award.

Rachael Cho (Leesburg, Va.) of the women’s basketball team was the recipient of the Bob Goodman Memorial Award for her service to Virginia athletics as a team manager and Holly Mills (Front Royal, Va.) of the wrestling team received the Tim Abbott Memorial Award presented to the student assistant trainer most dedicated to and possessing empathy for the student-athletes. Hillary Trebels (Arlington Heights, Ill.) of the volleyball team received the Life Skills Scholarship Award.

Virginia’s ACC Top VI Award recipients included Ari Dimas (Chesapeake, Va., men’s soccer), Jon Fausey (Dalmatia, Pa., wrestling), MacKenzie Leahy (Ft. Lauderdale, Fla., rowing), Matthias Meyer (Suhlendorf, Germany, men’s track and field), Emily Perrin (Charlottesville, Va., women’s soccer) and David Wren (Richmond, Va., men’s swimming and diving).

Team Awards

Baseball – Billy Word Memorial Award – Awarded later

Basketball (m) – Sidney Young Memorial Award – Mike Scott

Basketball (w) – Coaches Award for Excellence – Ariana Moorer and Chelsea Shine

Cross Country (m) – Coaches Award for Excellence – Mark Amirault

Cross Country (w) – Coaches Award for Excellence – Morgane Gay

Field Hockey – Coaches Award for Excellence – Hadley Bell and Rachel Jennings

Football – John Acree Memorial Award – Perry Jones

Golf (m) – F. Dixon Brooke Memorial Award – Ben Kohles

Golf (w) – William C. Eacho Memorial Award – Elizabeth Brightwell

Lacrosse (m) – Henry Gaver Memorial Award – Awarded later

Lacrosse (w) – Coaches Award for Excellence – Josie Owen

Rowing – Coaches Award for Excellence – Awarded later

Soccer (m) – Stanley Lerner Memorial Award – Will Bates

Soccer (w) – Coaches Award for Excellence – Morgan Brian

Softball – Coaches Award for Excellence – Awarded later

Swimming & Diving (m) – Brooke Maury Memorial Award – Peter Geissinger

Swimming & Diving (w) – Diane Montgomery Greene Memorial Award – Kelly Flynn

Tennis (m) – Norton Pritchett Memorial Award – Awarded later

Tennis (w) – Coaches Award for Excellence – Emily Fraser

Track & Field – Z Society – The Lou Onesty Memorial Award – Pearl Bickersteth

Track & Field – Henry Cummings Memorial Award – Kevin Anding

Volleyball – Coaches Award for Excellence – Emily Rottman

Wrestling – David Senft Memorial Award – Nick Nelson

Print Friendly Version