Story Links

April 4, 2013

Become a Fan of Virginia Swimming and Diving on Facebook
Follow Virginia Swimming and Diving on Twitter

GREENSBORO, N.C.—Virginia swimming freshmen Courtney Bartholomew and Luke Papendick swept the Atlantic Coast Conference Freshman of the Year honors, the conference announced Thursday (April 4).

“I believe both Luke and Courtney have had outstanding first-year seasons from beginning to end,” UVa head coach Mark Bernardino said. “They immediately made their mark as highly competitive and mentally and physically tough athletes. Both set lofty goals and worked hard to achieve those goals.

“Their performances through the dual meet season, to their even more impressive performances at the ACC and NCAA Championships speaks to their excellence and their future promise. I hope they each understand the magnitude of this honor and that they each will work very hard to proudly represent their selection as ACC Freshmen of the Year and continue to improve and excel in the years ahead.”

In her first NCAA Championship appearance, Bartholomew won the consolation final of the 100 backstroke and placed 10th in the 200 back. A two-time individual ACC Champion in her first season, the native of Holland, Mich., swept the backstroke events to help the Cavaliers win their sixth consecutive ACC title.

Papendick, the Men’s Freshman of the Year, garnered his first All-America accolade in the 200 backstroke, winning the consolation final to finish in ninth in the event in 1:41.50, a Virginia record. That time was the fastest time in the conference this year and the second-quickest mark in conference history. At the ACC Championship, the native of Kinnelon, N.J., won the silver medal in the 200 backstroke, finishing just .07 seconds behind the winner and helping UVa win its sixth consecutive title.

After one season, Bartholomew ranks second in the 100 back (51.63) and 200 back (1:52.72) and 10th in the 200 IM (1:58.51) on UVa’s all-time list. In addition to his school record in the 200 back (1:41.5), Papendick ranks third in the 100 back (46.96) and eighth in the 200 IM (1:46.37).

Bartholomew becomes the second consecutive and eighth female overall to earn ACC Freshman of the Year honors. Sophomore Ellen Williamson was honored in 2012. Papendick becomes the ninth male to win the award and first since UVa volunteer assistant coach and Olympic Gold Medalist Matt McLean was honored in 2008.

2013 ACC Award Recipients
Men’s Swimmer of the Year
Tom Luchsinger, North Carolina

Men’s Diver of the Year
Nick McCrory, Duke

Men’s Freshman of the Year
Luke Papendick, Virginia

Men’s Diving Coach of the Year
Drew Johansen, Duke

Men’s Coach of the Year
Braden Holloway, NC State

Women’s Swimmer of the Year
Cari Blalock, North Carolina

Women’s Diver of the Year
Kara McCormack, Miami

Women’s Freshman of the Year
Courtney Bartholomew, Virginia

Women’s Diving Coach of the Year
Randy Ableman, Miami

Women’s Coach of the Year
Rich DeSelm, North Carolina

Print Friendly Version