Story Links

May 19, 2015

NCAA Release | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

INDIANAPOLIS–The 2015 NCAA Rowing Championship field of 22 schools was announced by the NCAA Tuesday (May 19). By virtue of winning the ACC Championship on May 16, the Virginia rowing program earned a spot at the national regatta, which will be held at the Sacramento State Aquatic Center in Gold River, Calif., May 29-31.

In addition to Virginia, Brown (Ivy), California (Pac-12), Central Florida (American), Gonzaga (West Coast), Jacksonville (MAAC), Massachusetts (A-10), Navy (Patriot), Northeastern (Colonial), Ohio State (Big Ten) and Texas (Big 12) all earned their conferences’ automatic spots.

The 11 schools that earned at-large selections were Harvard-Radcliffe, Indiana, Michigan, Notre Dame, Princeton, Stanford, USC, Washington, Washington State, Wisconsin and Yale.

The Cavaliers are seeded No. 6 in the Varsity Eight, No. 2 in the Second Varsity Eight and No. 3 in the Varsity Four.

In 2014, Virginia placed fifth with 105 points, the eighth-consecutive season the Cavaliers finished in the top six at the national regatta. The Cavaliers finished eighth overall in the Varsity Eight, while the Second Varsity Eight and the Varsity Four both finished third.

In their 17 NCAA Championship appearances in the last 18 years, the Cavaliers have finished in the top four 10 times (1997-2000, 2002, 2005, 2007, 2009-10, 2012) and have been runners-up three times (1999, 2005, 2007).

The Varsity Eight boat won its first national title in 2012, clinching the team crown for UVa, the second team championship in program history (2010). Virginia has also captured national championships in the Second Varsity Eight in 1998, 1999 and 2005 and in the Varsity Four in 2004, 2005, 2007 and 2010.

Print Friendly Version