Story Links

April 25, 2016

Women’s ACC Release | Men’s ACC Release

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

GREENSBORO, N.C.-The Virginia swimming and diving team had 13 members named to the All-ACC Academic Swimming and Diving Team, the conference announced Monday (April 25).

Seniors Courtney Bartholomew, Becca Corbett and Haley Durmer, juniors Kaitlyn Jones, Shannon Rauth, Laura Simon, Leah Smith and Ellen Thomas and freshman Vivian Tafuto from the women’s team were recognized, while the men’s team was represented by seniors Carl Buergler, Yannick Kaeser and Colby Shinholser and sophomore Luke Georgiadis.

Bartholomew, Durmer, Jones and Simon were recognized for the third time in their careers, while Buergler, Kaeser, Rauth, Shinholser, Smith and Thomas were honored for the second time.

Smith successfully defended her NCAA titles in the 500- and 1,650-yard freestyle at the NCAA Championships in Atlanta, Ga., while Bartholomew was the NCAA runner-up in the 100- and 200-yard backstroke. Kaeser (200-yard breaststroke) and Simon (100 breast) also earned first-team All-America honors, while Jones, Rauth and Thomas were a part of first-team All-America relays.

The Virginia women won their ninth-consecutive ACC Championship, while the men placed sixth. At the NCAA Championships, the women finished fifth, tying their highest-ever team finish ever, while the men placed 28th.

To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic Team, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his or her academic career.

Print Friendly Version