Story Links

June 16, 2016

Virginia junior Thai-Son Kwiatkowski (Charlotte, N.C.) has been recognized as the 2016 Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year and heads up the sport’s All-ACC Academic Team, as announced today by commissioner John Swofford.

Virginia leads all schools with five selections to the All-ACC Academic Team with senior Mac Styslinger (Birmingham, Ala.), juniors J.C. Aragone (Yorba Linda, Calif.) and Luca Corinteli (Alexandria, Va.) and sophomore Henrik Wiersholm (Kirkland, Wash.) joining Kwiatkowski on the 20-player team. Kwiatkowski, who earned his second-straight ITA Singles All-American honor after advancing to the quarterfinals of the NCAA Singles Championship, finished the season ranked No. 7 nationally. The NCAA Tournament Outstanding Player for the national champion Cavaliers spent the entire season ranked in the top-10, amassing a 39-8 record. Kwiatkowski and Styslinger finished the season ranked No. 19 at doubles. Kwiatkowski is the fourth player in the history of the ITA All-American to win both the tournament’s singles and doubles title in the same year.

Kwiatkowski was named to Virginia’s athletics honor roll in both the fall of 2015 and the spring of 2016. He is enrolled in the prestigious McIntire School of Commerce at UVA, which has been ranked as the nation’s No. 2 business undergraduate program by Bloomberg Businessweek.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the awards must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their careers as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

Minimum academic requirements for selection to the All-ACC Academic Team are a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and a 3.0 cumulative average during one’s academic career. Athletic achievements during the most recent season are also considered in selecting the All-ACC Academic Team.

The ACC Honor Roll, which recognizes all conference student-athletes with a grade point average of 3.0 for the current academic year, will be released in July.

2016 Men’s Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Thai-Son Kwiatkowski, Virginia

The complete 2016 Men’s Tennis All-ACC Academic Team:

Name, School, Class, Major
Luke Johnson, Clemson, Sr., Parks, Recreation, & Tourism Mgt
Nicolas Alvarez, Duke, So., Psychology
Benjamin Lock, Florida State, Sr., Finance
Marco Nunez, Florida State, Sr., Finance
Nathan Rakitt, Georgia Tech, Sr., Industrial Engineering
Alexander Gornet, Louisville, Sr., Chemistry
Simon Norenious, NC State, Sr., Business Administration
Thomas Weigel, NC State, Sr., Business Administration
Joshua Hagar, Notre Dame, Jr., Information Technology Management
Quentin Monaghan, Notre Dame, Sr., Management Consulting
J.C. Aragone, Virginia, Jr., Government
Luca Corinteli, Virginia, Jr., Foreign Affairs
Thai-Son Kwiatkowski, Virginia, Jr., Commerce
Mac Styslinger, Virginia, Sr., Economics
Henrik Wiersholm, Virginia, So., Arts & Sciences Undeclared
Andreas Bjerrhus, Virginia Tech, Sr., Management
Amerigo Contini, Virginia Tech, Sr., Industrial Systems Engineering
Romain Bogaert, Wake Forest, Sr., Business Enterprise
Skander Mansouri, Wake Forest, So., Intended Business
Christian Seraphim, Wake Forest, Jr., Business Enterprise
Dennis Uspensky, Wake Forest, Fr., Undeclared

Print Friendly Version