Postgame Notes | Boxscore

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. – Junior Kyle Guy (Indianapolis, Ind.) hit three free throws in the final second to give 1-seed Virginia (34-3) the 63-62 win over 5-seed Auburn (30-10) in the Final Four on Saturday (April 6) at U.S. Bank Stadium.
Junior Ty Jerome (New Rochelle, N.Y.) finished with a game-high 21 points, nine rebounds and six assists to lead the Cavaliers. Guy had 15 points, going 3-for-3 from the line, and added four assists. Sophomore De’Andre Hunter (Philadelphia, Pa.) added 14 points and freshman Kihei Clark (Woodland Hills, Calif.) had nine.
Junior Mamadi Diakite (Conakry, Guinea, Africa) had a career-high five blocked shots and added six rebounds.
Virginia shot 49 percent for the game, while Auburn shot 38 percent. The Tigers had a 33-31 edge in rebounds, but UVA led 26-22 in the paint. Samir Doughty led Auburn with 13 points.
Virginia forced a shot clock violation on Auburn’s first possession and scored the first bucket of the game as Diakite hit a layup. UVA would take an 18-13 lead on an 8-0 run with 8:37 to go in the first half. Auburn closed the half on an 18-10 run to lead 31-28 at the half. Virginia came out strong in the second half, with Hunter hitting the first two baskets then Clark scoring four straight points to put UVA up 36-31. The teams traded baskets until a 13-4 run gave UVA its largest lead of the game, 57-47. Auburn used a 14-0 run to lead 61-57 with 17 seconds to go. Guy hit a three with 7.4 seconds on the clock. UVA sent Auburn to the line where it hit one of two to lead 62-60. Guy took the last-second shot and was fouled on the 3-pointer. He made all three free throws to give UVA the win.
Kyle Guy hit a 3-pointer with 7.4 seconds to go to close the game to 61-60. He then made three-straight free throws after being fouled with 0.6 on the clock to give UVA the win and send the Cavaliers to their first NCAA championship game.
Virginia will play the winner of 2-seed Michigan State and 3-seed Texas Tech on Monday, April 8 in the NCAA National Championship at 9 p.m. ET at U.S. Bank Stadium.