CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – The National Association of Basketball Coaches on Monday (Nov. 23) announced Virginia’s Sam Hauser (Stevens Point, Wis.) as one of 20 players named to the watch list for the 2021 NABC Division I Player of the Year powered by ShotTracker.

Hauser sat out last season after playing three seasons at Marquette. As a junior in 2018-19, Hauser averaged 14.9 points and 7.2 rebounds en route to All-BIG EAST second-team honors. Hauser shot 45.9 percent from the field, 40.2 percent from 3-point range and led the BIG EAST in free throw percentage at 92.4 percent.  Hauser averaged 14.1 points and 5.7 rebounds in 35 games as a sophomore in 2017-18 and 8.8 points and 5.0 rebounds as a true freshman in 2016-17.

The 2021 NABC Division I Player of the Year award will be announced during the 2021 AT&T NABC Guardians of the Game Awards Show, which takes place alongside the NABC Convention and Final Four. Former Dayton standout Obi Toppin won the award last season.

No. 4 Virginia opens its season against Maine on Nov. 25. Tipoff at Mohegan Sun Arena is set for 2 p.m. on

2021 NABC Division I Player of the Year powered by ShotTracker – Preseason Watch List
Brandon Boston Jr., Kentucky (G-Fr.)
Garrison Brooks, North Carolina (F-Sr.)
Jared Butler, Baylor (G-Jr.)
Jalen Crutcher, Dayton (G-Sr.)
Cade Cunningham, Oklahoma State (G-Fr.)
Ayo Dosunmu, Illinois (G-Jr.)
Marcus Garrett, Kansas (G-Sr.)
Luka Garza, Iowa (C-Sr.)
Collin Gillespie, Villanova (G-Sr.)
Sam Hauser, Virginia (F-R-Sr.)
Trayce Jackson-Davis, Indiana (F-So.)
Keyontae Johnson, Florida (F-Jr.)
Corey Kispert, Gonzaga (F-Sr.)
Remy Martin, Arizona State (G-Sr.)
Evan Mobley, USC (F-Fr.)
Jeremiah Robinson-Earl, Villanova (F-So.)
Oscar Tshiebwe, West Virginia (F-So.)
Trendon Watford, LSU (F-So.)
McKinley Wright IV, Colorado (G-Sr.)
Marcus Zegarowski, Creighton (G-Jr.)