A virtual celebration of National Girls and Women in Sports Day

Since 1996, the Virginia Department of Athletics and the Maxine Platzer Lynn Women’s Center have collaborated in a celebration of the National Girls and Women in Sports Day, an event that brings national attention to the achievements of female athletes and to issues facing girls and women in sport. 

Although we cannot celebrate in person this year, it is essential to recognize and advocate for the amazing achievements of girls and women in sport, while also acknowledging the progress that must continue to be made.  

UVA is proud to celebrate our Olympians, our National Champions, our Barrier Breakers, and all those that have made contributions to girls and women, on and off the playing field, every day.

Past Honorees

Year Celebration Theme Honorees
2020 Breaking Barriers On Any Field Jennifer Langton
2019 Honor the Legacy, Celebrate the Future Jane Miller
2018 Champions for Life 1992-93 ACC Champion Women’s Basketball Team
2017 Achieving your Dreams Leah Smith
2016 Teammates for Life 1991 NCAA Champion Women’s Lacrosse Team
2015 Bold in the Pursuit of Excellence Meghan O’Leary
2014 Celebrating Lifelong Leadership in Women’s Athletics Amy Griffin
2013 Olympic Gold Lauren Perdue
2012 Pan Am Gold Michelle Vittese and Paige Selenski
2011 Breaking the Glass Ceiling Natalie Randolph
2010 Olympic Gold Medalist Lindsay Shoop
2009 Foundation of Excellence Barbara Kelly
2008 Virginia WinS Kathy Sudduth, Brenda Langdon, Hannah Catherine Munro, Regina Kirk, Kerri Taylor, Becky Anderson, Kay Gay Groves, Linda Perrello
2007 Celebrating the UVA Athletics Family  Heidi Burge Horton and Heather Burge Quella (WBB), Lorraine Vizzuzo Castle & Michelle Vizzuzo Crawford (FH), Ashley Mayo-Karkus & Kira Mayo-Karkus (Golf), Julie Williams Martin & Susie Williams Trautwein (Lax), Beth Clark & Tammy Clark Mehta (Row), Kristen Di Millio & Tracey Di Millio (WSOC), Kristen Dennis & Lauren Dennis (SB), Margaret Martin Williamson, Maureen Martin Smith & Julie Elizabeth Martin (diving), Cheri O’Donnell Downing & Keri  O’Donnell Nimitz (WTEN), Emily Kirkwood and Sarah Kirkwood (VB)
2006 25 Years of NCAA Championships for Women Eileen Schmidt (SB), Meridith Thorpe (FH), Amy Burns (row), Julie Myers (Lax), Leah Wigger (golf), Mirjana Bosevska (swim), Dawn Cromer (XC), Kamiesha Otey (TF), Jessica Parsons (VB), Anna Prillaman (WBB)
2005 Milestone- Virginia Women’s Golf’s First Team Jan Mann, Sally Shonk , Rachel Smith, Danielle Rodebush, Kira Mayo, Leah Wigger, Michelle Graham, Lindsay Robinson, Ashley Mayo
2004 A Legacy of Excellence:  Advocate, Mentor, Leader Claudia Dodsen
2003 Champions Beyond the Playing Fields Shamim Sisson, Penny Rue, Carol Gutman, Pat Lampkin, Rebecca Leonard, Amy Cronin, Karen Holt , Sylvia Terry
2002 Front Runners & Champions Leslie Welch, Dana Slater, Martha Collins , Marisa Steele, Mary Jean McCarthy, Lisa Brady, Jill Haworth Jones, Aileen Hannigan
2001 Role Models, Leaders & Champions April Heinrichs , Angela Hucles
2000 Shapers of the World Paige Pippen, Tracy Nelson, Cecilia Bean Payne
1999 Leader & Mentor Peggy Boutilier
1998 Groundbreakers & Builders Susan Allen Kamoff, Lindsay Byrne Wortham, Ellen Feldman Roberts, Linda Southworth, President Frank L. Hereford, Mr. James O. West, Mr. Gene Corrigan, Susan Shannon
1997 Saluting UVA Legends Andrea Rubio, Dana Boone, Kristen Reed, Dr. Linda Bunker, Lindsay Sheehan Bradley, Melanie Valerio
1996 Pioneers in UVA Athletics Amanda Cromwell (WSOC), Cathy Grimes-Miller (WBB), Margaret Sloan (TF), Cheryl Gleason (FH), Lisa Palmer (SB), Karen Burgess Williamson (Swim), Deborah Tyson (VB, Kara Nuss (Swim), Caren Saunders, Dr. Mary Slaughter (Men’s Tennis), Dr. Sue Shapiro (Trainer), Heather Dow (FH & Lax)