CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia’s Kihei Clark (Woodland Hills, Calif.) was one of 20 players named to the watch list for the 2022 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced Monday (Oct. 18).

Named after Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic and Holy Cross guard Bob Cousy, the annual honor now in its 19th year recognizes the top point guards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

Clark, who was named to Cousy Award watch list for the third consecutive season, guided the Cavaliers to an 18-7 overall record and 13-4 first-place finish in the ACC. Clark averaged 9.5 points and team-leading 4.5 assists. He earned All-ACC honorable mention honors after finishing third in the league in assists (4.5), fifth in assist/turnover ratio (2.1) and 13th in minutes (34.0).

Cousy played for Holy Cross from 1946-1950 winning an NCAA Championship in 1947. He was named a Consensus First-Team All-American in 1950. His success continued at the professional level as a six-time NBA Champion (1957, 1959-1963), NBA Most Valuable Player (1957) and 13-time NBA All-Star (1951-63). In 1996, he was named a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team.

College basketball fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies in each of the three rounds. In late January, the watch list of 20 players for the 2022 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award will be narrowed to 10 and then in late February to just 5. In March the five finalists will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee where a winner will be selected.

The winner of the 2022 Bob Cousy Award will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the other four members of the Men’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Jerry West Shooting Guard Award, the Julius Erving Small Forward Award, the Karl Malone Power Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award, in addition to the Women’s Starting Five.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award include Ayo Dosunmu, Illinois (2021), Payton Pritchard, Oregon (2020), Ja Morant, Murray State (2019), Jalen Brunson, Villanova (2018), Frank Mason III, Kansas (2017), Tyler Ulis, Kentucky (2016), Delon Wright, Utah (2015), Shabazz Napier, Connecticut (2014), Trey Burke, Michigan (2013), Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (2012), Kemba Walker, Connecticut (2011), Greivis Vasquez, Maryland (2010), Ty Lawson, North Carolina (2009), DJ Augustin, Texas (2008), Acie Law, Texas A & M (2007), Dee Brown, Illinois (2006), Raymond Felton, North Carolina (2005) and Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph’s (2004).

For more information on the 2022 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award and the latest updates, log onto and follow @hoophall and #CousyAward on Twitter and Instagram. Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies will go live on Friday, Oct. 22.

2022 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Candidates
Jahvon Quinerly, Alabama
Antoine Davis, Detroit
Jeremy Roach, Duke
Andrew Nembhard, Gonzaga
Andre Curbelo, Illinois
Remy Martin, Kansas
Sahvir Wheeler, Kentucky
DaVante’ Jones, Michigan
Caleb Love, North Carolina
Max Abmas, Oral Roberts
Will Richardson, Oregon
Kendric Davis, SMU
Kyle Lofton, St. Bonaventure
Kennedy Chandler, Tennessee
Marcus Carr, Texas
Tyger Campbell, UCLA
Scottie Pippen Jr., Vanderbilt
Collin Gillespie, Villanova
Kihei Clark, Virginia
Paul Scruggs, Xavier