CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia’s Reece Beekman and Kihei Clark were honored by the Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID), announced Wednesday (April 19).

Beekman was named VaSID University Division Defensive Player of the Year and All-State First Team, while Clark earned All-State second-team honors.

Beekman averaged 9.5 points, 3.0 rebounds and 5.3 assists en route to ACC Defensive Player of the Year, All-ACC Third Team and All-Defensive Team honors. In addition, he was named to the U.S. Basketball Writers Association All-District 3 team. Beekman ranked first in the ACC in assist/turnover ratio (3.36), second in steals (57) and third in assists (168).

Clark averaged 10.7 points, 2.6 rebounds and 5.4 assists in his fifth and final year at UVA. He was named All-ACC Third Team, All-Defensive Team and National Association Basketball Coaches (NABC) All-District 2 Second Team. Clark ranked second in the ACC in assists (5.4 apg) and assist/turnover ratio (2.75), and finished career as ACC’s all-time leader in league wins (76) and minutes (5,339). He ended his career as UVA’s all-time leader in assists (718), wins (122), games (161) and starts (141).

VaSID Player of the Year Darius McGhee (Liberty) was joined by Ace Baldwin Jr. (VCU), Joe Bryant Jr. (Norfolk State), Grant Basile (Virginia Tech) and Beekman on the first team.

Kris Bankston (Norfolk State), Tyler Burton (Richmond), Isaiah Wilkins (Longwood) and DaQuan Smith (Radford) joined Clark on the second team.

JMU’s Mark Byington was named VaSID University Division Coach of the Year and Asher Woods (VMI) was named Rookie of the Year.

2022-23 VASID University Division All-State Men’s Basketball Team
VaSID Player of the Year
Darius McGhee, Liberty

VaSID Defensive Player of the Year
Reece Beekman, Virginia

VaSID Coach of the Year
Mark Byington, JMU

VaSID Rookie of the Year
Asher Woods, VMI

VaSID All-State First Team
Darius McGhee, Liberty
Ace Baldwin Jr., VCU
Joe Bryant Jr., Norfolk State
Reece Beekman, Virginia
Grant Basile, Virginia Tech

VaSID All-State Second Team
Kihei Clark, Virginia
Kris Bankston, Norfolk State
Tyler Burton, Richmond
Isaiah Wilkins, Longwood
DaQuan Smith, Radford