Story Links

November 25, 1998

Senior linebacker Eric Barton, who averaged an ACC-leading 14.5 tackles per game in 1998, has been named the winner of the Ray Krouse Award, which is presented annually to the Terrapins’ most valuable football player. Barton, a senior out of Alexandria, Va., was presented the award at the team’s annual awards dinner Tuesday night at the Inn & Conference Center on the university campus.

Barton, a 6-3, 229-pound inside linebacker, was an 11-game starter who reached double figures in all but one of Maryland’s contests in 1998. He had a career-best 22 stops vs. North Carolina and had at least 14 tackles on seven occasions. He was a two-time ACC defensive player of the week.

Barton also was named the team’s most valuable defensive player.

Sophomore tailback LaMont Jordan, from Forestville, Md., who currently ranks second in the ACC in rushing yards (906), was named the team’s most valuable offensive player. Jordan posted five games of 100 rushing yards or more — including three of more than 130 yards — and hiked his career rushing total to 1,595 yards. He averaged 5.4 yards per carry and led the team in touchdowns scored (6).

Senior tackle John Feugill and senior linebacker Kendall Ogle were named team captains.

Maryland’s 1998 Award Winners

Ray Krouse Award (most valuable player)
Eric Barton, Sr., LB
Most Valuable Offensive Player
LaMont Jordan, So., TB
Most Valuable Defensive Player
Eric Barton, Sr., LB
Terrapin Club Award (greatest contribution to football)
Kendall Ogle, Sr., LB
Alvin L. Aubinoe Award (unsung hero)
John Waerig, Jr., TE
James M. Tatum Award (lineman of the year)
Delbert Cowsette, Jr., DT
Top Special Teams Performer
Brian Kopka, So., PK
Dr. John E. Farber Award (iron man)
Kendall Ogle, Sr., LB
A.V. Williams Award (outstanding and conspicuous sportsmanship)
Paul Jackson, Sr., FS
George C. Cook Memorial Award (senior with highest academic average)
Ryan Rezzelle, Sr., OT
George Boutselis Memorial Award (letterman with highest academic average)
Brian Kopka, So., PK
Scott Rudolph, So., LS
Team Captains
John Feugill, Sr., OT
Kendall Ogle, Sr., LB
Champion Club Award
Kendall Ogle, Sr., LB
Eric Barton, Sr., LB
Champion of the Year
Jomo Huggins, Sr., DE
Chris Hayes, Sr., DE
Freshmen of the Year
Tony Okanlawon, Fr., CB
Melvin Fowler, Fr., C
Aaron Thompson, Fr., LB
Randall Jones, Fr., QB

Print Friendly Version