Story Links

May 10, 1999

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. — Forty-four of the country’s top female basketball players, including Virginia’s Erin Stovall (Irvine Calif./Iolani H.S.), have been invited to attend the 1999 USA Basketball Women’s World University Games Team Trials May 19-24 in Colorado Springs, Colo. The selections were made by the USA Basketball Women’s Select Team Committee, chaired by Anne Donovan.

The United States will be coached by Penn State University (Pa.) head mentor Rene Portland, USA Basketball’s 1997 Development Coach of the Year. Assisting Portland will be collegiate head coaches Bonnie Henrickson from Virginia Tech and Britt King from Fresno State (Calif.).

The 1999 World University Games will be held July 1-13 in Palma de Mallorca, Spain, and is a multi-sport competition open to men and women between the ages of 17 and 28 (as of January 1, 1999), who are, or have been within the past year, a student at a college or university.

The 12-member U.S. squad, which will be announced on May 24, will train June 14-23 at the U.S. Olympic Training Center in Colorado Springs, then will participate in a four-team tournament in Logro-o, Spain, from June 25-27. The women’s World University Games basketball competition is slated to be played from July 5-11.

Attempting to gain positions on this year’s team will be: LaQuanda Barksdale (North Carolina / Winston-Salem, N.C.); Tammi Blackstone (Drake / Meridan, Iowa); Edwina Brown (Texas / Lockhart, Texas); Erin Buescher (UC Santa Barbara / Rohnert Park, Calif.); Niesha Butler (Georgia Tech / Brooklyn, N.Y.); LaNeishea Caufield (Oklahoma / Stroud, Okla.); Rasheeda Clark (Pepperdine / Ontario, Calif.); Camille Cooper (Purdue / Georgetown, Ky.); Katie Cronin (Colorado State / Brighton, Colo.); Helen Darling (Penn State / Columbus, Ohio); Katie Douglas (Purdue / Indianapolis, Ind.); LaCresha Flannigan (UCLA / San Bernardino, Calif.); Stacy Frese (Iowa State / Cedar Rapids, Iowa ); Andrea Garner (Penn State / Philadelphia, Pa.); Julie Hagood (Arkansas State / Pocahontas, Ark.); Janae Hubbard (UCLA / Canton, Ohio ); Nicole Kubik (Nebraska / Cambrige, Neb.); Angela Lackey (Arizona / Louisville, Ky.); Brandi McCain (Florida / Silsbee, Texas ); Shyla McKibbon (Evansville / Hibbing, Minn.); Shelia McMillen (Notre Dame / Rochester, Ind.); Coco Miller (Georgia / Rochester, Minn.); Kate Miller (American / Iowa City, Iowa); Kelly Miller (Georgia / Rochester, Minn); Tausha Mills (Chicago Condors / Alabama / Garland,Texas); Carolyn Moos (Stanford / Wayzata, Minn.); Jenny Mowe (Oregon / Powers, Ore.); Natasha Pointer (Rutgers / Chicago, Ill.); Lynn Pride (Kansas / Dallas, Texas); Maxann Reese (Michigan State / Highland Park, Mich.); Ruth Riley (Notre Dame / Macy, Ind.); Michelle Snow (Tennessee / Pensacola, Fla.); Conswella Sparrow (Auburn / Shelbyville, Tenn.); Brianne Stepherson (Boston College / Middleton, Mass.); Shawnetta Stewart (Rutgers / Philadelphia, Pa.); Jackie Stiles (Southwest Missouri State / Claflin, Kan.); Erin Stovall (Virginia / Irvine, Calif.); Megan Taylor (Iowa State / Roseau, Minn.); Stacey Thomas (Michigan / Flint, Mich.); Itoro Umoh (Clemson / Hephzibah, Ga.); Ayana Walker (Louisiana Tech / Houston, Texas); LaTonya Washington (Florida / Laurel Hill, Fla.); Shaquala Williams (Oregon / Fairview, Ore.) and Brooke Wyckoff (Florida State / West Chester, Ohio).

Print Friendly Version