Story Links

April 4, 1998

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – The University of Virginia track and field teams competed in the 1998 Milton G. Abramson Memorial Meet at Lannigan Field. The Cavalier women’s team placed third with 61.50 points, and the men’s team finished first, collecting 76 points winning seven events.

The women’s team was led by three first place finisher’s in Kimberlee Turko, Angela Lee, and Kelly Miller. Turko won the 100 meter high hurdles in a time of (14:56). Lee’s top place finish came in the 400 meter hurdles which she ran in a time of (60:13). Miller captured the long jump with a distance of (5.66m). Virginia also placed eight runners in the top three spots. Frances Warner placed third in the 3000 meter run in a time of (10:04.58). Cheryl Twomey had a third place finish as well. She ran the 5000 meter race in time of (18:05.11). Lee took third in the 100 meter high hurdles, running a (14:87). In the field events, Katie Kiladis took second in the high jump, jumping (5’02.00″), while Dana Thul placed third in the javelin, with a toss of (40.32m). Miller took third in the triple jump and the 100 meter dash. She jumped (11.02m) in the triple jump, and ran a (12.57) in the 100m. Virginia’s two relay teams both placed second. The 4×100 meter relay ran a time of (47.47), while the 4×400 meter relay recorded a time of (4:05.89).

The men’s team was highlighted by Raymond Weeden who won two events. Weeden won the 800 meter run in (1:54.14). He also captured the 1500 meter run in (3:54.42). Other first place finisher’s for the Cavaliers included Aundre Oldacre, who won the 400 meter dash in a time of (48.40). Rauhn Turner won the 400 meter hurdles with a time of (52.65). Marion Mason captured the long jump with a distance of (6.88m). Larry Wilson won the discus throw, in a throw of (52.03m). Virginia’s 4×100 meter relay also won their event in a time of (41.78).

The track and field teams will return to action on Saturday, (April 11), when the Cavaliers host the Onesty Invitational. The meet is scheduled to begin at 9:00 a.m. at Lannigan Field.

Print Friendly Version