Story Links

April 18, 1999

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Senior DeMya Walker (Mt. Holly, N.J./Rancocas Valley Regional) was named the Cavalier of the Year for the second consecutive year at the women’s basketball banquet tonight at the DoubleTree Hotel. Walker, who led the Cavaliers in scoring, rebounding, field goal percentage and blocked shots this past season, also took home the Rebounding Award and shared the Best Offensive Player Award with sophomore Erin Stovall (Irvine, Calif./Iolani). Svetlana Volnaya (Minsk, Belarus) was named the Cavalier Rookie of the Year.

Stovall shared the Best Defensive Player Award with seniors Monick Foote (Wilmington, Del./.Sanford) and Lesley Brown (Little Rock, Ark./Pulaski Academy). The Most Improved Player Award went to sophomore Elena Kravchenko (Minsk, Belarus/Plymouth, Pa. Whitemarsh) and junior Renee Robinson (E. Palo Alto, Calif./Sacred Heart). Sophomore Katie Tracy (Richmond, Va./James River) was the recipient of the Bob Williams Award which is given to the player which best represents the academic and athletic partnership.

The Cavaliers, 20-9 overall and 12-4 in the ACC, made their 16th straight NCAA Tournament appearance and finished the season ranked 20th in AP poll and USA Today poll.

All award winners are listed below:

   Cavalier of the Year                     DeMya WalkerBest Offensive Player                    DeMya Walker, Erin StovallBest Defensive Players                   Monick Foote, Lesley Brown, Erin Stovall Rookie of  the Year                      Svetlana VolnayaRebounding Award                         DeMya Walker Award for Most Assists                   Renee RobinsonAward for Highest Free Throw Percentage  Lisa Hosac (Littleton, Colo./Heritage)Most Improved Players                    Renee Robinson, Elena KravchenkoMost Valuable Player in Practice         Dean'na Mitchelson (Bakersfield, Calif./Bakersfield)Unsung Hero Award                        Lauren Swierczek (Wallingford, Pa./Strath Haven)Preseason Conditioning Award             Lesley Brown, Elena KravchenkoCoach's Award                            Tes Sobemehin (team manager, Rick Turner (Dean of Students),                                          Lynn Mitchell (Associate Athletic Director for Compliance)Bob Williams Award                       Katie Tracy
Print Friendly Version