Story Links

May 3, 2000

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Angela Hucles (women’s soccer) and Ed Moses(men’sswimming & diving) were honored as the University of Virginia’s topfemaleand male athletes for the 1999-2000 academic year at Virginia’s annualawards dinner Wednesday (May 3) at University Hall. Hucles received theIMP Award as the top female athlete and Moses received the WCHV Award asthe top male athlete.

Hucles, a senior from Virginia Beach, Va., was a four-timeAll-State and All-Atlantic Coast Conference performer for the Cavaliers.Ateam co-captain in 1999, she led Virginia in goals scored (11) andpoints(29) last fall. Hucles holds UVa’s career records for goals scored (59)and points (138). She also established a school record with 19game-winning goals during her career and she had six game-winningassists.Hucles was named to Soccer America’s Team of the Week twice during the1999season and was named the ACC Player of the Week once.

Hucles also received the Ernest H. Ern Award for outstandingcontributions to student life at Virginia.

Moses, a sophomore from Burke, Va., established a pair of shortcourse world records in winning NCAA titles in the 100 and 200-meterbreaststroke in March. He clocked a time of 57.66 seconds in the 100andhad a time of 2:06.40 in the 200 in becoming UVa’s first two-time NCAAChampion. Moses also established an American 50-meter breaststrokerecordwith a time of 26.96 seconds in the 50-meter split in the 100. He wasnamed the Swimmer of the Championship for his performance at the NCAAChampionships, the first time an ACC swimmer has received the award.

After the NCAA Championships, Moses won the 100 and 200-meterbreaststroke events at the Phillips 66 National Championships. Moses,theschool record holder in the 100 and 200-breaststroke, also won the100-breaststroke title at the ACC Championships.

Gary Fewell, the shop supervisor in Virginia’s athleticfacilitiesoperation, received the Bus Male Service Award for his years of servicetoVirginia athletics.

Amy Fromal (Folsom, Pa.) of the women’s lacrosse team and AustinRamirez (Brookfield, Wisc.) of the men’s swimming and diving teamreceivedVirginia’s ACC Scholar-Athlete Awards. Ramirez also received the GusTebell Memorial Award as the senior male student-athlete with thehighestscholastic average through his four years at Virginia. Amy Peay(Mechanicsville, Va.) of the softball team received the Jettie HillMemorial Award as the senior female student-athlete with the highestscholastic average through her four years at UVa.

Ashley Widger (Berwyn, Pa.) of the women’s lacrosse team won theCraig Fielder Award for overcoming adversity and Brian Vahaly (Atlanta,Ga.) of the men’s tennis team received the Ralph Sampson ScholarshipAward.Jill Hansen (Rutland, Vt.) of the women’s lacrosse team received theVirginia Athletic Department’s Student-Athlete Scholarship Award.

Jenny Holsinger of the men’s lacrosse team was the recipient oftheBob Goodman Memorial Award for her service to Virginia athletics as ateammanager and Ashley Andrew received the Tim Abbott Memorial Awardpresentedto the assistant trainer most dedicated to and possessing empathy forthestudent-athletes. Emily Egge (Alexandria, Va.) of the rowing team andWhitney Bilger (La Jolla, Calif.) of the volleyball team wereco-recipientsof the Student Athlete Mentor (S.A.M.) Award.

Virginia’s ACC Top VI Award recipients included Jason Bernd(wrestling, Virginia Beach, Va.), Doak Finch (men’s swimming & diving,Southern Pines, N.C.), Angela Hucles (women’s soccer, Virginia Beach,Va.),Thomas Jones (football, Big Stone Gap, Va.), Lindsay Larsen (crosscountry,Pomfret Center, Conn.) and Kelly McCabe (softball, Maple Glen, Pa.).Theawards are presented to six student-athletes who have given the most interms of service to the University of Virginia and Charlottesvillecommunities.

Print Friendly Version