Story Links

Feb. 13, 2001

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – The University of Virginia will host the 2001 Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Swimming and Diving Championship Thursday, February 15 through Saturday, February 17 at the UVa Aquatic and Fitness Center. Admission to the ACC Championship is free. Preliminaries begin at 11:00 a.m. each day with finals commencing at 7:00 p.m.

North Carolina, under the direction of 24th-year head coach Frank Comfort, is the defending ACC Champion, winning the 2000 ACC title with 842.5 points. Virginia was second at the 2000 ACCs with 693.5 points, while Clemson was third with 476.5 points. North Carolina has won 13 of the 22 ACC Swimming and Diving Championships and finished second in the other nine. Clemson has won four ACC titles, while the Cavaliers have posted three, including back-to-back titles in 1998 and 1999.

Three ACC teams are currently ranked in Speedo America’s College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) Top 25 Poll. The Tar Heels lead the way with a ranking of eighth, while UVa is 14th. Maryland rounds out the ACC’s ranked teams in the 20th spot.

The 2001 ACC Women’s Swimming and Diving Championship featured nine returning individual ACC Champions. Virginia second-year Cara Lane, the 2000 ACC Women’s Swimmer of the Year and 2000 ACC Meet Most Valuable Swimmer, won three individual ACC titles last year. Lane set Conference and ACC Meet records in winning the 1650-yard freestyle in a time of 16:07.71. She set the ACC Meet record in earning the top spot in the 500-yard free (4:43.21), and also won the 200-yard butterfly in a time of 1:58.58. Virginia second-year Mirjana Bosevska is the defending ACC Champion and ACC Meet record holder in the 200 and 400-yard individual medleys. Bosevska, the 2000 ACC Rookie of the Year, won the 200 I.M. in a time of 2:00.59 and touched in 4:13.77 in winning the 400 I.M.

North Carolina boasts two returning ACC Champions. Junior Katie Hathaway swept the breaststroke events at the 2000 ACCs. She won the 100-yard breast in 1:02.12 and the 200-yard breast with a time of 2:13.04. Sophomore Christy Watkins is UNC’s second returning 2000 ACC Champion. Watkins won the 50-yard freestyle with a time of 22.66 and was also victorious in the 100-yard backstroke (53.92).

Florida State junior Chrisy Cech is the final returning ACC Champion. Cech won the 100-yard freestyle with a time of 50.32

Results for the 2001 ACC Women’s Swimming and Diving Championship will be available on the world wide web at The, as well as Media

Print Friendly Version