Story Links

April 5, 2001

GREENSBORO, N.C. – University of Virginia swimmers Cara Lane (Charlotte, N.C./Providence) and Ian Prichard (Ventura, Calif./Buena) have been selected as the Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s and Men’s Swimmers of the Year, respectively, in a vote of the league’s head swimming coaches. In addition, Luke Wagner (Greenwood, Colo./Regis Jesuit) has been selected as the Men’s ACC Rookie of the Year, while Cavalier head coach Mark Bernardino was tabbed the ACC’s Men’s Coach of the Year.

Lane, a second-year, was selected as the ACC Women’s Swimmer of the Year for the second consecutive season. Lane earned ACC titles in the 500-yard free, 1650-yard free and the 200-yard butterfly and was named the Most Valuable Swimmer of the ACC Championship for the second straight year. It is also the third consecutive year that UVa has swept the ACC Meet and Swimmer of the Year awards. Lane set ACC, ACC Meet, and UVa pool records in winning the 1650 free with a time of 15:58.64. Lane, a three-time ACC Swimmer of the Week pick this season, also set the ACC Meet record in winning the 500 free (4:43.55) and the pool record in winning the 200 fly (1:59.03). Lane went on to win the 2001 NCAA title in the 1650-yard free with a time of 15:53.86, marking the second consecutive year Lane has won the distance freestyle at the NCAA Championships. In addition to earning first-team All-America honors in the 1650 free, Lane was a first-team All-American in the 500 free and 200 butterfly. She placed third in the 500 free in 4:39.61 and eighth in the 200 fly with a time of 2:02.14. Lane was an honorable mention All-American in the 800-yard free relay.

In addition to being named ACC Swimmer of the Year, first-year Ian Prichard was selected as the Most Valuable Swimmer of the ACC Championship. Prichard, a three-time ACC Swimmer of the Week this year, won both the 500 and 1650-yard freestyles in leading the Cavaliers to the 2001 ACC team title. He set ACC, ACC Meet, and UVa pool records in winning both the 500 free (4:16.32) and 1650 free (14:51.70). He also placed second to classmate Luke Anderson in the 200 free with a time of 1:36.71. At the 2001 NCAA Championships, Prichard earned honorable mention All-America accolades in three individual events and the 800 free relay. He was ninth in the 1650-yard freestyle (14:57.70), 11th in the 500 free (4:19.11), and 15th in the 200 free (1:36.74).

Wagner has been selected as the ACC Rookie of the Year. He won the 200-yard backstroke title at the ACC Championship with a time of 1:44.64 and earned runner-up honors in the 100 back (48.66). Wagner was also a member of UVa’s winning 200-yard medley (1:29.64) and 800 free (6:29.13) relay teams that earned ACC titles. At the 2001 NCAA Championships, Wagner earned first-team All-America honors with a fifth-place finish in the 200 back. Wagner set a school record with his time of 1:42.67 in that event. He also garnered honorable mention All-America accolades as a member of the Cavaliers’ 200 and 400 medley relays and the 800 free relay that finished in the top 16 at NCAAs. Wagner also finished sixth in the 200-meter backstroke (2:01.77) at the Phillips 66 National Championships on March 31.

Bernardino has been chosen as the Men’s ACC Coach of the Year for the eighth time after leading Virginia to its third consecutive and fifth overall ACC Championship. Bernardino led UVa to an 8-1 overall record and a perfect 5-0 mark in the ACC. The Cavaliers placed 13th at the NCAA Championships, their second highest finish in school history.

Print Friendly Version