Story Links

April 28, 2001

CLEMSON, S.C.– The University of Virginia women’s rowing team won the Atlantic Coast Conference title Saturday (April 28) on Lake Hartwell in Clemson, S.C. The Cavaliers finished first in three of the four events to win the team championship for the second consecutive year.

Virginia won the team competition with a total of 38 points. Clemson had the second place team finish with 32 points and Duke finished third by virtue of a tiebreaker over North Carolina. Duke and North Carolina both finished with 15 points, but the Blue Devils were officially awarded third place because they finished ahead of the Tar Heels in the first varsity eight.

“I’m happy with the performance of our crews today in winning our second ACC Championship,” UVa head coach Kevin Sauer said. “The Eastern Sprints are in two weeks and the NCAA Championships in four weeks. We need to improve steadily over the next four weeks.”

In the first race of the day, the second varsity four, UVa finished first with a time of 7:36.50 followed by Clemson (7:57.10) in second place. Duke (8:00.60) was the third boat to cross the finish line followed by North Carolina (8:02.70).

Clemson was first in the varsity four race with a time of 7:27.70. UVa (7:30.20) was a close second in the only race the Cavaliers have not won since ACC Championship competition in women’s rowing began last year. North Carolina (7:36.0) was third followed by Duke in fourth place with a time of 7:37.40.

UVa finished first in the second varsity eight race with a time of 6:40.50. Clemson (6:50.20) was the second place boat followed by North Carolina (7:00.40) and Duke (7:06.30).

The varsity eight event was the final race of the day. UVa was the first-place finisher with a time of 6:31.30 followed closely by Clemson (6:36.60) in second place. Duke finished third with a time of (6:43.5) and North Carolina (6:53.40) was fourth.

Four UVa rowers were named to the nine-member All-ACC team, including Madeline Engel, Jennifer Herberger, Margot Noordzig and coxswain Sarah Brennan. Also named to the team were Amelia Booth (Duke), Lucy Doolittle (Clemson), Aimee Fox (Clemson), Joanna Hingle (Duke) and Erin Neppel (North Carolina).

Clemson head coach Susie Lueck was named ACC Coach of the Year. The Tigers first varsity eight was named ACC Crew of the Year.

Virginia’s novice eight (6:46.0) defeated Clemson (6:57.6) on Friday (April 27) and the Cavaliers also won the coxswain’s race.

On May 13 Virginia will travel to Camden, N.J., to compete in the Eastern Sprints.

Print Friendly Version