Story Links

May 28, 2001

New Brunswick, N.J. – Juniors Conor Gill and Mark Koontz were named first-team STX/USILA All-Americans announced Monday at the NCAA Men’s Lacrosse Championships.

Gill, an attackman from Lutherville, Md., is the only holdover from last year’s first team. He led the ACC in scoring this season with an average of 3.77 points per game (15g, 34a). He also led the ACC in assists for the second year in a row. He is just the 10th player in school history to be a two-time first-team selection and could become the first three-time first-teamer in school history if he makes it next season.

Koontz was named a second-team All-American last season as a defenseman and moved up to the first team this season. A native of Upper Arlington, Ohio, he led ACC long stickmen for the second year in a row with 67 ground balls, finishing fourth overall. Koontz headlined a very young defense this season that featured two freshmen starters and allowed an average of 8.29 goals per game.

Sophomore midfielder Chris Rotelli and freshman goalie Tillman Johnson were named honorable mention All-Americans. Rotelli led the team with 28 goals this season, while Johnson earned Atlantic Coast Conference Rookie of the Year honors after allowing an average of 8.34 goals per game and recording a .571 save percentage.

A complete listing of the STX/USILA Division I All-Americans is below.

First Team

Mike Powell, Syracuse
Tom Glatzel, Notre Dame
Conor Gill, Virginia

Josh Coffman, Syracuse
Doug Shanahan, Hofstra
Steve Dusseau, Georgetown
Gavin Prout, Loyola

John Glatzel, Syracuse
Ryan Mollott, Princeton
Mark Koontz, Virginia

Trevor Tierney, Princeton
Pat McGinnis, Maryland

Second Team

Keith Cromwell, Rutgers
Jeff Sonke, North Carolina
Andrew Combs, Maryland

Eric Wedin, Johns Hopkins
Kevin Cassese, Duke
Adam Borcz, Navy
Dan Cocchi, Towson

Mike Howley, Maryland
Shawn Nadelen, Johns Hopkins
Damien Davis, Princeton

Kirk Howell, Notre Dame

Third Team

Tom Kessler, Hofstra
Mike Springer, Syracuse
Ryan Boyle, Princeton

Kyle Sweeney, Georgetown
Chris Cercy, Syracuse
Sean Hartofilis, Princeton
Steve Bishko, Notre Dame

Brandon Testa, Johns Hopkins
Matt McFarland, Massachusetts
Ryan McClay, Cornell

Rob Mulligan, Syracuse

Honorable Mention

B.J. Prager, Princeton, Liam Banks, Syracuse, Tim Pearson, Army, Bobby Benson, Johns Hopkins, Kyle Campbell, Towson, Dave Ulrich, Notre Dame, Matt Streibel, Princeton, Richard Kunkel, Massachussetts, Brian Hunt, Yale, Mike Mollott, Maryland.

Mike Law, Denver, Scott Bross, Duke, Kevin Leviele, Massachusetts, Bob Horsey, Loyola, Justin Berry, Towson, Mark Juelis, Bucknell, Scott Doyle, Georgetown, Chris Rotelli, Virginia, Chris Malone, Maryland, Mike Sullivan, Loyola, Rob Torti, Princeton, Chris Hartofilis, Duke.

Billy St. George,Syracuse, Mike Stromberg, Loyola, Stuart Schwartz, Duke, Bobby Gormsen, North Carolina, David Metz, Loyola, Rodger Colbert, Georgetown, Adam Baxter, Towson, Mike Adams, Notre Dame, Nick Polanco, Hofstra, Christopher Sullivan, Brown.

John Horrigan, Towson, Tillman Johnson, Virginia, Justin Cynar, Cornell, Chris Campolettano, Massachusetts

Print Friendly Version