Story Links

Aug. 13, 2001

GREENSBORO, N.C. — The 45th annual Atlantic CoastConference Academic Honor Roll, noting academic excellence bystudent-athletes for the 2000-01 school year, contains a record 1,711performers as announced by Commissioner John Swofford.

The Honor Roll comprises those student-athletes whoparticipated in a varsity-level sport and registered a grade pointaverage of 3.0 or better for the full academic year. Duke led the leaguein total selections for the 14th straight year placing 344 on the list,while North Carolina was second with 251 student-athletes. Virginia wasthird with 211 student-athletes and Maryland was fourth with 203,followed by Clemson (176), NC State (157), Florida State (146), GeorgiaTech (121) and Wake Forest (102).

Featured on this year’s Honor Roll are several standoutsincluding Heisman Trophy winner Chris Weinke of Florida State, ShaneBattier of Duke who was the Wooden and Naismith National Player of theYear and Georgia Tech’s Bryce Molder who was National Player of theYear in golf, receiving the Fred Haskins and Jack Nicklaus awards. Inaddition to being tabbed the National Player of the Year in theirsports, each was named the ACC Player of the Year for their respectivesport and all three student-athletes finished their careers as four-timeACC Honor Roll members.

Also included on the list of top student-athletes areseveral players who earned top honors in their respective sports.Maryland lacrosse player Jen Adams was selected as the National Playerof the Year in lacrosse and was this year’s Mary Garber Award recipient,presented each year to the ACC’s top female student-athlete. NorthCarolina field hockey player Kristen McCann was the ACC Player of theYear and has been an ACC Academic Honor Roll member for five-straightyears. Lori Lindsey from Virginia and Wake Forest’s Trina Maso de Moyawere both named the 2000 ACC Player of the Year in women’s soccer andvolleyball respectively. NC State wrestler Zach Breitenbach is afour-time ACC Academic Honor Roll member and was a recipient of a 2001ACC Weaver, James, Corrigan Post-Graduate Scholarship. Also included onthe list is Clemson linebacker Chad Carson, a 2000 First-Team AcademicAll-America, who led Clemson to a bowl game in two of his first threeseasons.

Print Friendly Version