Story Links

March 5, 2002

Washington, D.C. – University of Virginia men’s lacrosse players Conor Gill and Mark Koontz are among 12 candidates named candidates for the second annual Tewaaraton Trophy, the most cherished and prestigious award a varsity lacrosse player can receive and a symbol of excellence in college lacrosse. Virginia and Syracuse (4) are the only schools that have more than one player on the list.

Gill is considered one of the top attackmen in the nation. A gifted passer and field general, he is bidding to become the first player in school history to be a three-time first-team All-American. Through the first two games of the season he is the team’s leading scorer with 12 points (2g, 10a). Gill leads active Division I players with 114 career assists, tied for eighth in ACC history. He is also fourth among active players with 179 career points, 10th in school history.

Koontz is one of the top defensemen in the country and has received All-America status the last two years, including a first-team selection last season. He returned to action last weekend against Syracuse after suffering a severe wrist injury in the offseason. A three-year starter coming into the season, Koontz has led ACC long sticks in ground balls the last two years.

The Tewaaraton Trophy is presented annually to the top female and male varsity collegiate lacrosse players in the United States. Scholarship money is given to the winners’ college or university general scholarship fund. The Foundation committee honors Native American heritage with the name “Tewaaraton,” the name the Mohawk nation gave to their game and the progenitor of present day lacrosse and has received approval from the Mohawk Council of Elders.

The Tewaaraton Trophy Awards Dinner will be presented at The University Club of Washington, D.C. on June 5, 2002 at a banquet honoring the finalists and winners.

Print Friendly Version